Minggu, 29 April 2012

0 14 Action Inducing Lessons from Benjamin Franklin

Benjamin Franklin
Benjamin Franklin was a man of action. Over his lifetime, his curiosity and passion fueled a diverse range of interests. He was a writer (often using a pseudonym), publisher, diplomat, inventor and one of the Founding Fathers of the United States.

His inventions included the lightning rod, bifocals and the Franklin stove. Franklin was responsible for establishing the first public library, organizing fire fighters in Philadelphia, was one of the early supporters of mutual insurance and crossed the Atlantic eight times. Self-development was a constant endeavor throughout his incredible life.

Benjamin Franklin was clearly a man who knew how to get things done.

14 Action Inducing Lessons
  • Less Talk, More Action

    “Well done is better than well said.”

    Talk is cheap. Talking about a project won't get it completed. We all know people who constantly talk about the things they are going to do but rarely ever take that first step. Eventually people begin to question their credibility. Taking action and seeing the task through to completion is the only way to get the job done.

  • Don’t Procrastinate

    “Never leave that till tomorrow which you can do today.”

    This is probably one of the first quotes I remember hearing as a teenager. With an impressive list of achievements to his credit, Benjamin Franklin was not a man hung up on procrastination. He was a man with clear measurable goals who worked hard to turn his vision into reality. What are you putting off till tomorrow that could make a difference in your life today?

  • Be Prepared

    “By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail.”

    You need a plan to accomplish your goals. Charging in without giving any thought to the end result and how to achieve it, is a sure way to fall flat on your face. Think like a boy scout. Have a realistic plan of attack and a systematic approach for getting where you need to be.

  • Don’t Fight Change

    “When you're finished changing, you're finished.”

    Whilst many of us don’t like change, others thrive on it. Either way change is inevitable. The stronger we fight against it, the more time and energy it consumes. Give up the fight. Focus on proactively making positive changes, instead of having change merely thrust upon you. Wherever possible, try to view change as a positive instead of a negative.

  • Get Moving

    “All mankind is divided into three classes: those that are immovable, those that are movable, and those that move.”

    There’s a reason we use the expression, movers and shakers. Movers are the ones who take action, the people who get things done, while the immovable are sitting around scratching their heads wondering how others could possibly be so successful. Which group do you want to belong to?

  • Avoid Busywork

    “Never confuse motion with action.”

    We are always running around doing things. We rush from one meeting or event to the next, sometimes without achieving a great deal. At the end of the day, how much of our busywork are we proud of? How much of that running around improves anyone’s life (including ours) for the better? Make your motion mean something.

  • Give Yourself Permission to Make Mistakes

    “Do not fear mistakes. You will know failure. Continue to reach out.”

    If we fear making mistakes, we become scared to try new things. Fear leaves us nestled in our comfort zone. Staying in your comfort zone rarely leads to greatness. Taking risks and giving yourself permission to make mistakes, will ultimately lead you to whatever your version of success may be.

  • Act Quickly on Opportunities

    “To succeed, jump as quickly at opportunities as you do at conclusions.”

    Opportunities are everywhere. The trick is being quick enough and smart enough to seize them when they arise. Instead of jumping to the conclusion that something won’t work or can’t be done, allow yourself the freedom to ask what if?

  • Continue to Grow

    “Be at war with your vices, at peace with your neighbors, and let every new year find you a better man.”

    We all have vices of some description. The key is to keep them under control or preferably eradicate them entirely. Be kind to those around you, whether they are neighbors, family, co-workers or friends. Never accept that you have finished growing as a person.

  • Keep Going

    “Diligence is the mother of good luck.”

    Have you ever looked at a successful entrepreneur or business person and thought how lucky they are? Most of the time, luck has nothing to do with it. Hard work and sacrifice on the other hand have everything to do with it. Successful people deal with failure. They tackle their demons head on. They pick themselves up and keep going.

  • Know Yourself

    “There are three things extremely hard: steel, a diamond, and to know one's self.”

    Understanding ourselves is not easy. Sometimes we just don’t want to see ourselves for who we really are. It’s much easier to hold onto a romanticized version of ourselves or to simply view ourselves through other people’s eyes. Start by being brutally honest with yourself. Follow through with understanding, compassion and acceptance.

  • Don’t Self-Sabotage

    “Who had deceived thee so often as thyself?”

    We spend so much time worrying about other people hurting us, yet fail to comprehend the damage we inflict on ourselves. If you are using negative self-talk, lying to yourself or indulging in addictive behavior you are self-sabotaging. Life can dish up enough challenges without us adding to the mix. Be kind to yourself. Treat yourself like you would a best friend.

  • Don’t Give Up

    “Energy and persistence conquer all things.”

    Achieving our goals can be downright exhausting. There will be days when you want to give up. There will be times when your energy levels flatline and you wonder why you bother getting out of bed. Yet you push forward, day after day because you believe in yourself and you have the determination and strength to back up that belief.

  • Wise Up

    “Life's tragedy is that we get old too soon and wise too late.”

    Benjamin was definitely onto something with this one. Who hasn’t had the thought - I wish I could know then, what I know now? Unfortunately there is no time machine; there is no going back. The key is to wise up as early as you can to start forging a life of purpose, achievement and happiness.
Written on 4/29/2012 by Thea Easterby. Thea Easterby is a freelance writer, blogger and keen traveller. Her blog www.writechangegrow.com offers inspiring tips on writing, career change and personal development.Photo Credit: andrewmalone

Jumat, 27 April 2012

0 Photo Tours in Google Maps

Google Maps has a great new feature that shows 3D photo tours for more than 15,000 landmarks using the images submitted by Panoramio and Picasa Web users. Google displays an image preview next to the local search results that have photo tours, so it's easy to find them. Here are some examples: La Sagrada Familia, La Tour Eiffel, Santiago Bernabéu Stadium, Hungarian State Opera House, Trevi Fountain. The feature uses WebGL, so it only works in Chrome, Firefox and Safari (where it's disabled by default).


"To produce these photo tours, we use advanced computer vision techniques to create a 3D experience from public, user-contributed Picasa and Panaromio photos. We start by finding clusters of overlapping photos around major landmarks. From the photos, our system derives the 3D shape of each landmark and computes the location and orientation of each photo. Google Maps then selects a path through the best images, and adds 3D transitions to seamlessly guide you from photo to photo as if you're literally flying around the landmark and viewing it from different perspectives," explains Google.


0 Google's Zerg Rush Easter Egg

Google has a new Easter Egg: search for [zerg rush] and you'll notice that search results will start to disappear, destroyed by zerglings. Your mission is to save the search results and kill the zerglings using your clicks, but it's not easy.

According to KnowYourMeme, "Zerg Rush is a popular online gaming term used to describe an overwhelming scale of attack carried out by one player against another in real time strategy (RTS) games. The term originates from the popular RTS game Starcraft, in which the Zerg race is notoriously known for its ability to mass-produce offensive units within a short time frame, thus allowing the player to overpower the opponent by sheer number."




When the game is over, Google lets you post your results to Google+ and shows the message "GG", a cryptic way to say "Good Game".



{ Thanks, Mati. }

Kamis, 26 April 2012

0 Breaking Out and Breaking In Finale

[Image: Poster design by Atley Kasky of Outpost].

Although I hope to post again about the specific topics to be discussed at this event, I didn't want to lose any more time in announcing the Breaking Out and Breaking In final public event to be hosted at Columbia University's Studio-X NYC on Monday, April 30, featuring a unique and exciting panel of discussants drawn from the worlds of film, design, history, architecture, and the FBI.

Stop by to hear Special Agent Brenda Cotton, Bank Robbery Coordinator for the FBI's Bank Robbery/Kidnapping/Extortion Squad; Thomas McShane, Retired FBI Special Agent from the Bureau's Art Crime Team and co-author of Stolen Masterpiece Tracker; Scott Macaulay, editor-in-chief of Filmmaker Magazine, co-sponsors of the Breaking Out and Breaking In film festival; Matt Jones, designer and principal at BERG; and Jimmy Stamp, writer and editor at the Yale University School of Architecture and co-organizer of last year's symposium on the architecture of the getaway, the hideout, and the coverup.

The event is free, open to the public, and kicks off on April 30 at 7pm sharp. We'll be at 180 Varick Street, Suite 1610, on the 16th floor; here's a map. Stop by for a panel discussion and open Q&A about the spatial scenarios of real and cinematic crimes, from armored car heists to panic rooms, from Boston art thefts to Los Angeles bank tunnels, and from the internal layouts of financial institutions to the unanticipated criminal side-effects of urban design, exploring the built environment from the perspective of the crimes that can be planned and foiled there.

Rabu, 25 April 2012

0 Google Drive Goggles

Google Drive has the most powerful image search technology you can find in an online storage service. It uses Google Goggles technology to recognize objects, logos, landmarks, text and much more, so you can find an image even if the filename is a.jpg. The most impressive thing is that the processing happens as soon as you upload the images and there's no setting to enable.

For example, Google Drive found an image of the Android statue from the Googleplex when searching for [Android].


It also found a screenshot of Google's homepage and a Chrome logo when searching for [Google], this time using OCR technology.


"Let's say you upload a scanned image of an old newspaper clipping. You can search for a word from the text of the actual article. We also use image recognition so that if you drag and drop photos from your Grand Canyon trip into Drive, you can later search for [grand canyon] and photos of its gorges should pop up. This technology is still in its early stages, and we expect it to get better over time," explains Google.

0 Chrome and Google Drive's Third-Party Apps

One of the most important Google Drive features is the support for third-party apps. Now you're no longer limited to Google's word processor, spreadsheet editor, presentation app and you can use web apps developed by other companies.

Google released a SDK for Google Drive apps and there are already 18 apps that use it. Users are required to install a Chrome app from the Chrome Web Store for each Google Drive app, but they don't have to use Chrome. Google's dev blog informs that "Drive apps are distributed from the Chrome Web Store and can be used with any modern browser." I've managed to install apps in Firefox and Opera, but not in IE9.


To integrate a third-party app with Google Drive, the app sends you to a page that asks for your permission. The authorization process fails if you load the page without installing the Chrome Web Store app. As Google says, "apps will not have any API access to files unless the app has been installed in Chrome Web Store." Chrome apps are only used to allow the third-party apps to use the Drive API, but they can be uninstalled immediately after they're installed and all the features will work in Chrome and any other browser.



At the moment, Drive apps don't integrate with Chrome, but that's likely to happen in the future. Chromebooks would be a lot more useful if you could sync files with Google Drive and open them using web apps.

0 Google Docs Experiments With a Font Manager

Google Docs tests another great feature: a font manager that will help you customize the list of fonts and add new fonts from the Google Web Fonts project. You can sort the fonts by popularity, by name or the date added and restrict the fonts to serif, sans serif, display and handwriting.

There's also a search box that lets you find a font. For example, you can use the advanced search tool from the Web Fonts project, find your favorite font, then quickly add it to the Google Docs font list.


You can try the new feature using this template (update: the document has been removed). Just click "use this template" and you'll create a new document that opens in an updated version of the Google Docs editor. To access the font manager, click the font dropdown from the toolbar and select "add fonts" at the bottom of the list.


{ Thanks, abarjames1. }

Selasa, 24 April 2012

0 Google Drive's Folder View

Google Drive added a new way to view the files from a folder. Just right-click the folder, select "open folder" and you'll be able to preview and edit files, while still seeing the list of files. The nice thing is that the files are cached and you can quickly switch between them without reloading the files.



You can use this feature to compare documents, edit two documents simultaneously or preview the files from a folder shared with you. The sidebar can be minimized by clicking the small arrow icon and you'll still be able to click file icons.


{ Thanks, Jérôme. }

0 Google Docs Tests Quick Apply Feature

There's a really cool feature that could be available soon in Google Docs. Just press Alt+/ or click the "?" icon from the toolbar and you can type a few letter from the name of a Google Docs command and select it. For example, you can type "in" and select "increase indent" or "insert row above". It's much faster than finding the command in the Google Docs menus.


You can try the new feature using this template (update: the document has been removed). Just click "use this template" and you'll create a new document that opens in an updated version of the Google Docs editor.

{ Thanks, Jediah. }

0 10 GB of Free Storage in Gmail

Gmail now offers 10 GB of free storage, up from 7.56 GB. Google says that "the increase will take effect over the next 24 hours" and the reason for this sudden bump is Google Drive's launch. To get more Gmail storage, check the new Google Drive plans.


I find it strange that Gmail offers two times more free storage than Google's online storage service. While the files created using Google Docs apps don't count towards the free storage limit, there are many other files that can be uploaded. I also find it strange to see that Google Music can store up to 20,000 of music files for free and that's more than 80 GB of free storage.

Google Drive should be the place where you can find all your files. Right now, photos and videos are stored using Picasa Web Albums, music files are stored in Google Music, documents are stored in Google Docs/Drive and many files are stored in Gmail.

0 Google Drive: Google Docs Meets Dropbox

Google Drive is finally here, but it's not a completely new service. It's not just a new name for Google Docs, it also brings a different vision: your files are always in sync. Google Drive offers 5 GB of free storage, up from 1 GB, and lets you download desktop and mobile apps that synchronize your files. For now, the apps are only available for Windows, Mac and Android, but Google will release an app for iPhone and iPad in the near future.


By default, the desktop app creates a new folder for Google Drive, downloads all the files uploaded to Google Docs and adds shortcuts for the files created using Google Docs apps. This way, the files download to your computer are available offline and can be opened using your favorite apps, while the files created using Google Docs can only open in a browser. If you use Chrome, you can also open some of the files offline. For some people, this will be confusing.


Another issue is that Google offers some new storage plans. The sad thing is that Google's new storage plans are a lot more expensive that the previous ones: now you need to pay $2.49/month (almost $30/year) for 25 GB, instead of $5/year for 20 GB. They're still cheaper than Dropbox's plans, but they're more expensive than Microsoft's plans. Microsoft downgraded the free quota from 25 GB to 7 GB, but existing users can still keep it.



Google DriveDropboxSkyDrive
Free storage5 GB2 GB (up to 18 GB)7 GB (existing users: 25 GB)
+20 GB$10
+25 GB$29.88
+50 GB$99$25
+100 GB$59.88$199$50


If you upgrade to one of the new plans, Google offers 30 GB of additional Gmail storage. For some reason, the shared storage is no longer available for Gmail and it's now limited to Google Drive and Picasa Web Albums.

Here are the old Google plans (if you already use one of them, you can keep it and you won't be upgraded to the new plans automatically):


and the new plans:



Gmail now offers 10 GB of free storage, while Google Drive only offers 5 GB. Instead of encouraging users to send attachments, the files could be stored in Google Drive.

Google Drive integrates with third-party apps and one of them is already enabled by default: Pixlr, a photo editor. You can also install some Chrome apps that integrate with Google Drive. There's a new "open with" item that lets you pick one of the apps from the contextual menu.



There are many other changes: a grid view, collections are now called folders, an activity view that shows "live updates of everything you and others have modified" and Google Apps support.


"Drive is built to work seamlessly with your overall Google experience. You can attach photos from Drive to posts in Google+, and soon you'll be able to attach stuff from Drive directly to emails in Gmail. Drive is also an open platform, so we're working with many third-party developers so you can do things like send faxes, edit videos and create website mockups directly from Drive," explains Google. Ironically, the Google blog post is written by Sundar Pichai, who killed the Google Docs project back in 2008. "I don't think we need GDrive anymore. Files are so 1990," he said at that time.


{ Thanks, Joel and Yavuz. }

0 Google Sells Phones Again

Google Play is not just for digital content. You can now buy unlocked Galaxy Nexus phones for only $399 if you are in the US. "Galaxy Nexus devices purchased on Google Play are unlocked GSM/HSPA+ devices. The unlocked Galaxy Nexus requires GSM compatible service provider for voice calling. In the United States this includes AT&T and T-Mobile," explains Google.

"Galaxy Nexus costs $399 and arrives at your door unlocked, without a carrier commitment or contract. You can use it on the GSM network of your choice, including T-Mobile and AT&T. It also comes pre-installed with the Google Wallet app which lets you easily make purchases and redeem offers with a tap of your phone. Best of all, we'll give you a $10 credit to get you started with your new mobile wallet," mentions Andy Rubin.


This is not Google's first attempt to create an online store for selling Android devices. Back in 2010, Google launched a web store that allowed you to buy a Nexus One and choose your favorite service provider. Google's goal was to add other Android devices and to make it easy to buy phones. Unfortunately, Google's store wasn't successful, people complained about the lack of customer service, Verizon skipped the Nexus One and Google closed the store four months later. "While the global adoption of the Android platform has exceeded our expectations, the web store has not. It's remained a niche channel for early adopters, but it's clear that many customers like a hands-on experience before buying a phone, and they also want a wide range of service plans to chose from," said Andy Rubin at that time.

It's really difficult to sell unlocked phones in the US because they're a lot more expensive than the locked phones, plans cost the same and phones can't be used on two of the most important carriers: Verizon and Sprint. This time, things are a little different: Galaxy Nexus was only available for Verizon customers and its price dropped from $299 to $199. While $399 is not a high price for an unlocked phone launched 5 months ago, you can buy subsidized phones that are more powerful than Galaxy Nexus (for example, HTC One X for $199).

Google's new store is better suited for tablets, since most people don't buy subsidized tablets. As the Wall Street Journal speculated last month, "Google will open its own online store this year, but stocked with tablets instead of phones. The Android tablets would be built by Samsung and ASUS who already offer the well received Galaxy Tab and Transformer lines, but have been unable to make a dent in marketshare comparable to that of Apple or even Amazon."

Senin, 23 April 2012

0 Ephemeral islands and other states-in-waiting

[Image: Temporary islands emerge from the sea, via].

In the Mediterranean Sea southwest of Sicily, an island comes and goes. Called, alternately and among other names, depending on whose territorial interests are at stake, Graham Bank, Île Julia, the island of Ferdinandea, or, more extravagantly, a complex known as the Campi Flegrei del Mar di Sicilia (the Phlegraean Fields of the Sicily Sea), this geographic phenomenon is fueled by a range of submerged volcanoes. One peak, in particular, has been known to break the waves, forming a small, ephemeral island off the coast of Italy.

And, when it does, several nation-states are quick to claim it, including, in 1831, when the island appeared above water, "the navies of France, Britain, Spain, and Italy." Unfortunately for them, it eroded away and disappeared beneath the waves in 1832.

It then promised to reappear, following new eruptions, in 2002 (but played coy, remaining 6 meters below the surface).

The island, though, always promises to show up again someday, potentially restarting old arguments of jurisdiction and sovereignty—is it French? Spanish? Italian? Maltese? perhaps a micronation?—so some groups are already well-prepared for its re-arrival. As Ted Nield explains in his book Supercontinent, "the two surviving relatives of Ferdinand II commissioned a plaque to be affixed to the then still submerged volcanic reef, claiming it for Italy should it ever rise again." This is the impending geography of states-in-waiting, instant islands that, however temporarily, redraw the world's maps.

The story of Ferdinandea, as recounted by that well-known primary historical source Wikipedia and seemingly ripe for inclusion in the excellent Borderlines blog by Frank Jacobs, is absolutely fascinating: it's appeared on an ornamental coin, it was visited by Sir Walter Scott, it inspired a short story by James Fenimore Cooper, it was depth-charged by the U.S. military who mistook it for a Libyan submarine, and it remains the subject of active geographic speculation by professors of international relations. It is, in a sense, Europe's Okinotori—and one can perhaps imagine some Borgesian wing of the Italian government hired to sit there in a boat, in open waters, for a whole generation, armed with the wizardry of surveying gear and a plumb bob dangling down into the sea, testing for seismic irregularities, as if casting a spell to coax this future extension of the Italian motherland up into the salty air.

0 4 things before I fly off

To Osaka!! For a week!! I'm going with my secondary school friends Ripple, her husband and baby Miley (omg I'm so excited about cuddling Miley wtf), Wongsie and Charlene!!

Ripple did all the planning and I didn't have to do anything but pay for tickets and accomodation. It was very shiok. :D

Anyway my flight is going off at 8pm tonight so I am left with like a short while to blog before I go!!

First things first!!

1) Flea

I'm super happy with how the flea went!! The first few batches were a bit frantic as people were rushing to snap up the cameras/phones/contact lens, but it was still managable. I sold off almost everything... Was left with 2 small shopping bags full of clothes which I donated to the Salvation Army.

I can't believe there were people who came in at 4pm to ask if the cameras are sold. -_- The girl who bought both cameras actually came with her boyfriend to queue the night before at 10pm (the sale starts at 12pm the next day), but she was asked to leave as the building needed to be locked up. She then arrived the next day at 5am. That is what I call dedication!! Congrats and hope you love the cameras!!

The queue was really quite long and I'm sorry that some of you queued for a long time but didn't manage to get loads of good stuff. I'd try to buy more things so I can organise another flea next time ok? LOL


Didn't take much pictures since I was quite busy that day so here is one I stole from Shuyin's instagram of me signing autographs. :D


Got no time!! I will upload more pics when I come back.

Thank you so much to Jipaban for organising!!


2) Renovation sponsors

I'm so happy and grateful to announce that I've got MOST of my renovation sponsored!!

The list is not confirmed 100% yet so I'd announce them later but I've been shown so many awesome products and services that I've never known before starting reno!! It's all very eye opening. :D

However, there are some products/services I still require so if you think that your brand could do with some advertising, you can email me!!

I still need:

AIRCON

MOVERS or Moving services

PAINT

PAINTERS



And the last one is a bit complicated... LODGING!!

As I mentioned the renovation took longer than I expected and the house is still in rubbles but Mike and I need to move out of our rental place by the 3rd. We will be homeless wtf...

Therefore I was wondering if there are SERVICE APARTMENTS or HOTELS/MOTELS in Singapore that could offer us a month's lodging in exchange for publicity! :D

I'm actually looking forward to this!! It's like a staycation lol.

So yes if you are interested please email me at xiaxue(at)gmail.com. I might take a bit to reply as I will be in Osaka.


3) New video!

I finally did a new Youtube video!! It's Katy Perry's Interview Magazine's makeup tutorial. Just watch!!



I know I take very long to do videos wtf... Editing and filming takes me like 3 whole days because I am really quite anal about trying to make it as perfect as possible (like I cut out all the "erms" and "so yeahhhhhs") and I'm not as adept on video editing as I am on photoshop.

Then I checked out my Youtube honors for the first time and felt even more guilty:


:X

Show off?

Lol I find people who find it offensive that people "show off" on their blogs are very silly... If a blog is not for showing the world what I love, what makes me happy, and what I'm proud of then what is it for?

Recording down all my disappointments and sadness so I can look upon them and wallow?

Or so I can make YOU feel better about yourself? No thanks... It's to encourage me to do better!! And if you have the right attitude, it should encourage you to do better as well. :)

Anyway... Here are the more high res versions of the photos I took after the video:







4) Unleashed by Nat Ho

I'm sure a lot of you Singaporeans already heard! Nat Ho has released his debut single, UNLEASHED!!!

He actually slaved over his work for months on end. As you all know he used to be an actor but he has always wanted to be a singer... So he quit his acting work at Mediacorp and did this album entirely on his own. It took him so much hard work and money from his own pocket.

I think this sort of attitude is to be applauded. How many of you would not risk losing your day job for chasing your dreams?

And instead of going the "safe" route with a slow Mandarin ballad and an MV of him and a girl kissing under a dreamy looking tree he went all the way out with a fast song in English and a sci-fi futuristic MV.

And what has all these got to do with me? Well the story goes like this...

It was after a Blackberry event and Nat was there... After the event a big group of us had dinner together and I just casually mentioned it was my dream to guest star in an MV!!

Nat at that point was preparing for his album and he said ok, he will keep that in mind and ask me to be in his. I honestly thought he was patronising me but months later I got a call and he said he wants me to be in Unleashed!!

So here I am, in the MV as a Head Nurse!!



Is the MV awesome or what?!

Super proud of Nat and struck something off my bucket list at the same time!!

Be a chio girl in an MV


If you click on the video on youtube you can see that comments aren't all that flattering.

Singaporeans are really such a horrible bunch. Instead of focusing on the big picture and applauding Nat for a well polished MV that he paid for himself, or for having the courage to chase his dreams, they nitpick on the dumbest little things...

Like how the sponsors are so obvious in the MV. I'm sorry, does it not cost money to create such a professional looking video? The costumes, the editing, the directing, the dancers, the music producers etc... ALL COST MONEY. So what's wrong with having corporate sponsors taking some of the burden? It doesn't affect YOU in any way... Nobody is asking you to pay money everytime you spot a brand logo... SO ANGRY FOR WHAT?! Please, be realistic!

And people saying he cannot sing... That his voice is all autotuned... That he is just a pretty face... Right there on the sidebar are related videos of him actually singing. Did you bother to click?



As for the people saying it looks too "kpop"... I don't even see how that is something bad?!

Someone asked on my formspring... Why is everyone gao poring Nat Ho?

For me, besides the obvious reasons I've already stated that 1) I am in the video and 2) I admire anyone who works hard to achieve their dreams instead of just talking 3) I genuinely like the mv and the song... I believe I speak for everyone by saying this: Because Nat is really, really nice!

He is really one of the most hardworking, humble, dedicated artiste I've seen. There are many times I've asked him for help for favours and he always responds above and beyond what I've asked for, even when he is very busy. And even though he is famous, he still does all the "sai gang" by himself like driving all his crew around.

I arrived at 7am for his MV's shoot and had to wait around for some time before my scene as some parts were delayed and he had to accomodate everyone's schedule. Nat kept apologizing to me like a hundred times. He himself shot from like 7am till like 3am or something... It's so much hard work and people can just click on the dislike button so easily. I find it so unfair.

When I was there filming some members of his fan club was there as well and they arrived since 7am and of course stayed the whole time to help out... Buying food for the crew, making milo for everyone and running errands. All of them did this out of their own goodwill because they loved Nat. I looked upon all these with wonder and a bit of jealousy because I wished I had fans who were so super nice too!! (I mean I possibly do have really nice readers and all but they really do adore him so much wtf)

And I just wondered... WHY? Why is everyone so nice to Nat? Other than his fan club, everyone worked till the wee hours of the night for him. I mean, what can possibly make people wake up at 6 in the morning and slave all day long just so he can fulfil his dream????

AND THE ANSWER - IT IS BECAUSE HE IS NICE. Of course, being handsome helps lol but he is really 很会做人 so if anyone deserves success... It is him!

Enough yabbering... Pictures from the Press conference! It was held at GV gold class!!





Qiu and I waiting for the Press conference to start

 What is Nat doing?!

 Oh he is proving he didn't photoshop lol


I was happy to attend with Qiuqiu and Sophie so when we went into the the theatre I just sank into one of the sofas there with them...


Nat's face on the big screen!!

But then Nat said I am to sit in with his panel wtf... I forgot he asked me!!


IT FEELS SO CELEBRITY SITTING THERE PLEASE!!!

Excited Nat

And of course I couldn't take pictures during the press conference itself... Afterwards:

Nat with Sophie


And with me!!


Finally... Two pictures of me before I go shower and get ready for JAPANNNNNNNNN



The photos are huge lol. I love that purple headband thingy I bought from Topshop at $33!!

I know it's a bit pricey but it's so gorgeous and I cannot find these things anywhere!! Comes with purple feathers too AREYOUKIDDINGME

And the freaking My Little Pony cropped top from F21. Ahhhhhhh!! Can't take it anymore too I love all my gorgeous shopping.

Ok blog again soon and please click LIKE on Nat's video here!!

Jumat, 20 April 2012

0 Share Embedded Images From a Gmail Message Using Google+

Google+ was built around sharing content and that's its main purpose, so many Google products started to provide a unified sharing experience powered by Google+.

Gmail allows you to share image attachments with other Google+ users by clicking the "Share" link, but what about the embedded images from a message? Now you can share them by mousing over the images and clicking the "share" button.


How to insert images into a Gmail message? Just drag and drop the images from your favorite file manager. It should work in the latest versions of Chrome, Safari and Firefox, assuming that you haven't disabled the rich text mode.

{ Thanks, Enrico. }

Kamis, 19 April 2012

0 Remove Deleted Videos from YouTube Playlists

Just because you add a YouTube video to a playlist doesn't mean you'll be able to watch it in the future. Many YouTube videos are removed because of copyright infringement, but some of them are deleted by the uploaders.

YouTube now shows a warning at the top of the page when some of the videos from a playlist have been deleted from YouTube. The warning is only displayed when you open the playlist and there's also a button that lets you remove the videos that are no longer available.


Unfortunately, YouTube no longer shows the title of a video after it's been deleted. This was useful because you could find similar videos and add them to the playlist. Now that YouTube replaces the title with "deleted video" and the video page only shows an error message, YouTube could automatically remove the missing videos.


{ Thanks, Sterling. }
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

The Inspiration Blog Copyright © 2011 - |- Template created by O Pregador - |- Powered by Blogger Templates

Sitemap