Rabu, 29 Februari 2012

0 Mining the Lower East Side

[Image: From "Lower East Side Quarry" by Rebecca Fode; open each image in a new tab for a larger view].

Last month, several students from the Bartlett School of Architecture—studying as part of Unit 11, taught by Mark Smout, Laura Allen, and Kyle Buchanan—came through town for some field trips, workshops, and crits.

At a public event in January, we looked at a huge range of work by all of the visiting students, and a number of the projects—all of them speculative works set in New York City—continue to come to mind. But because of the frequency with which I refer to one of them, in particular, I thought I should post it here.

[Image: From "L.E.S. Quarry" by Rebecca Fode].

For a project called "Lower East Side Quarry," Rebbeca Fode outlines an elaborate scenario in which the mineral content of the bedrock beneath Manhattan begins to exceed the exchange value of the real estate built upon it; accordingly, sensing access to untold wealth, residents of a rent-controlled street on the Lower East Side band together to form a rogue mining union.

[Image: Map of Manhattan bedrock, courtesy of the USGS; view larger].

And downward they go, like economically motivated cousins of London's Mole Man, expanding their cellars beneath the streets with this mythic quarry, beginning in 2012 at a location on Orchard Street, between Broome and Grand; here's a map.

[Images: From "L.E.S. Quarry" by Rebecca Fode].

Gradually, over time, the unlicensed and increasingly complicated mineworks expand beneath nearly every building in the neighborhood, following two veins of Inwood Marble that track north-south under the city; the buildings, in turn, are propped up by retaining walls and gantries as the quarry swells below.

[Image: From "L.E.S. Quarry" by Rebecca Fode].

The ground plane thus drops lower and lower each year as the buildings themselves are, in effect, severed from the earth's surface, coming to stand like circus acrobats on stilts over a neighborhood long ago overlooked—or underlooked?—for the mineral wealth in its foundations.

While the project is a narrative scenario, not a real proposal for an emerging DIY extraction industry, it nonetheless presents an interesting question about mineral rights and the exchange value of geology in a major inhabited area. Should a valuable mineral resource of any exploitable extent be discovered down there in the veins beneath New York City, for instance, could mining become a viable use of the city's real estate—and, more to the point, what would be the architectural effects of this radical subtraction of the ground plane?

The city of Johannesburg springs to mind. A recent graduate thesis project by Dorothy Tang, at Harvard's GSD, explored the urban mines that dot Johannesburg's densely populated landscape (some of the mines have even been hijacked and, later, raided by underground security forces), and Mario Gooden's current studio at Columbia's GSAPP also takes Johannesburg's porous, unevenly excavated urban fabric as its site.

But what about the bedrock of Manhattan, an island often described in terms of canyons and analyzed as a geologic city? What happens when New York becomes a site of extraordinary excavation and it begins to expand not through fabulous skyscrapers but through sinuous and labyrinthine mines? What happens when mineral rights become as salable as air rights, when the geologic underpinnings of the city can change hands in a heartbeat, always on the verge of being extracted?

[Image: Canada's Diavik diamond mine via Wikipedia].

New York could become not unlike Canada's extraordinary Diavik diamond mine, a hole seemingly in the middle of nowhere with water on all sides, but with some historic neighborhoods, art museums, stock exchanges, and jazz bars propped up above on a numbered grid of bridges shaped like streets.

0 Great Feet Feeling!

p/s: One new entry below this! :)

Advertorial

Pic is clickable!

How many of us girls have wished for slimmer, more toned legs? I have, which is why in the above photo my legs are edited to death hahaha!

Legs do all our walking for us all day long...




and we subject them to cruel shoes...



Like these... That arch them uncomfortably... Yet all the TLC we give to our feet? Maybe some moisturizing or the occasional reflexology or pedicure session. Compared to our face, legs get so little attention from us!

I know, in order to get awesome legs so much work must be done.

Exercising, dieting, getting a golden tan on them... Who has the time and energy? I don't even know what exercises there are to tone legs.

Coupled with the fact that a lot of food we eat have high salt content, which causes bloating and swollen legs... Just give up and let the legs remain 'meh'.

But what if there is a product that can help increase your blood circulation, reduce water retention and at the same time tone your legs... ALL WHILE YOU DO ABSOLUTELY NOTHING?!


 YES REALLY!!!



Introducing Scholl's latest genius idea - Scholl Compression Stockings!

What is it? These compression stockings with its patented partial pressure technology, will create a graduated compression structure to make your legs look AND feel better... All while you are sleeping peacefully! Hurray for no exercise! :p

It is really simple... All you have to do is to put them on before going to bed.

How I pretend to put stockings on

How I actually look putting stockings on lol 
(captured by camera accidentally)


Gotta love these Scholl sleeping stockings!! Why?

1) The colours are so pretty! Lilac and milky pink! Love!

2) It actually warms up your legs in the aircon room, which feels snuggly!

3) Now when you put moisturizer on your legs and wear the stockings, it seals the moisturizer close to your skin instead of rubbing off on the sheets. Ok I don't know if this is true but I just feel it rubs off, ok!

4) Your partner will LOVE you wearing these coz they look so cute! Men love thigh high socks. :D

5) I like how there is a hole at the toes, so that your toes won't sweat into the stockings, then don't need to wash that frequently. :X

6) Ok, also the medical stuff I said above, lol

If your concern is not only legs but also your hips/butt, then you can instead try the Compression Leggings, which go up to the waist!!!!




As you can see the stockings also come in nude for day usage!! WOAH!

Very kiasu I shall wear these all the time - sleeping and day - so I can get the ultimate slimmest legs MUAHAHAHA. In the day I can look like the Queen of England coz she is never seen without nude stockings. How terribly crass of everyone else to show their bare (untoned and swollen) legs!

Scholl Compression Stockings are Japan's no.1 selling compression stockings. If you wish to give them a try, here are the prices:
Scholl Compression Long - $50.65

Scholl Compression Leggings - $ 61.45

Scholl Compression Out Sheer Stocking - $ 22.55

Available at Watsons and Guardian.


You are a miser and don't want to pay money? Never mind, Scholl's giving out five pairs of Sleeping Stockings for FREE!! FREE I SAY!

Just leave a comment and tell me why you desperately need the Sleeping Stockings and five winners will be chosen. The winners will be announced on Nuffnang and also on Scholl's facebook page so remember to LIKE them here:


I shall leave you with a photo of me and my foot:

0 Ground Environment Déjà Vu

[Image: From the talk by Zebra Imaging at Studio-X NYC; photos by BLDGBLOG].

Last week at Studio-X NYC, we hosted Michael Klug of Zebra Imaging, whose 3D printable holographs I also had the pleasure of covering for the 2012 Year in Ideas issue of Wired UK.

The gist of Zebra's work can be gleaned from that article, but a few things were mentioned at the event—including Klug's reference to his company as engaging in a new form of "light control"—that seemed worth recounting here.

[Image: From the talk by Zebra Imaging at Studio-X NYC; photos by BLDGBLOG].

In the second half of his talk, after presenting the difficult physiology of vision and the workings of the human eye, Klug described the cartographic applications of his firm's work. He showed several examples of streetscapes and building interiors that had been mapped via laser scanners and turned into—that is, printed as—3D holographs. Here, Klug used a military phrase—the Common Operating Picture (or Common Operational Picture)—as he showed us rendered slides of small combat teams attempting to understand an unfamiliar urban environment by way of detailed holographic prints. So this brings me to two points I want to mention:

1) At one point, Klug showed how a complete interior map of a laser-tag facility had been extracted from the movements of a SWAT team sent inside, in a kind of gonzo mapping exercise, to explore the building's layout. Their movements through space, and the equipment they wore, generated the data for the map. Specifically, if I remember this correctly, sensors mounted with the SWAT team's gear allowed a complete 3D representation to be created, producing manipulable point clouds of spatial data. The slide, I believe, was labeled "SWAT Team Wayfinding."

While this, in and of itself, is not technically mind-blowing, the strategy of sending small teams of expeditionary soldiers out into unknown cities and neighborhoods in order to map, from the ground up, any and all routes, anomalies, events, and short-cuts, seems to promise a kind of militarization of psychogeography, as if the Situationist project has been taken up, albeit from an unexpected direction, by ground armies around the world.

[Image: From the talk by Zebra Imaging at Studio-X NYC; photos by BLDGBLOG].

If, as Eyal Weizman has explored, philosophers such as Gilles Deleuze and Félix Guattari have seen their work instrumentalized and turned into tactical diagrams for military strike teams, then we might also look at SWAT teams wandering through laser-tag facilities in the name of 3D cartography as a strange new, technically advanced chapter in Situationist practice—what McKenzie Wark, in his recent book The Beach Beneath the Street, calls a "calculated drifting" through urban space. Situationism means, Wark writes, "not only understanding but living the city otherwise." The military holograph thus becomes a strange new site where these tendencies (ironically) converge. (Wark will also be speaking at Studio-X NYC this spring, on the evening of Tuesday, April 3).

2) In what was meant as more of an aside, Klug nonetheless said an extraordinary thing: that he and his colleagues have begun joking about what they call "ground environment déjà vu." This remarkable phrase refers to the feeling that one has already experienced a 3D ground environment—an entire landscape, not just visually but immersively—due to prior exposure via holographs.

On several occasions, it seems, having recently printed holographs of a certain environment, the users of these holographs will experience a new kind of spatial familiarity with what would otherwise be a new location; they are able to know, for instance, accurately and in advance, what will be found around corners, where objects are located in relation to others, and even how far apart things are placed.

[Image: From the talk by Zebra Imaging at Studio-X NYC; photos by BLDGBLOG].

Again, in and of itself, this presents a scenario not hugely different from the assumed familiarity one might develop while looking at photographs of an unfamiliar location, then traveling to that location only to find it strangely recognizable, as if you have spent time there before.

But I'm captivated by the suggestion that new representational technologies—new ways of documenting and sharing spatial information—might come with their own cognitive implications: new memory disorders, new anxieties, new sources of identification or confusion. Put another way, what spatial or topographic disorders already exist—such as vertigo—and do certain representational technologies (like 3D film or even Google Street View) augment these disorders or keep them at bay? To use a somewhat absurd example, simply for the point of illustration, could something like 3D film be used someday as a kind of non-chemical cure for acrophobia? You're prescribed a certain time of exposure.

Or, more to the point, will we see, in a world where holographic maps are found everyday—in guide books, on walls of subways—a new social concern with "ground environment déjà vu," an uncanny spatial memory disorder that strikes whenever you encounter the emerging urban phenomenon of the familiar/unfamiliar location?

Selasa, 28 Februari 2012

0 How to Craft a Killer Elevator Pitch That Will Land You Big Business


What is an Elevator Pitch?

This is the 30-60 second business description of what you do and why someone should work with you. It's called an "Elevator Pitch" because it describes the challenge: "How would you explain your business and make a sale if fate placed you in an elevator with your dream prospect and you only had the time it takes to get from the top of the building to the bottom?"

This article will explain the elements of a powerful elevator pitch and then walk you through how to craft yours.

Why Is Having an Elevator Pitch So Important?

You only have 30-60 seconds to make a powerful first impression. The attention span of the average person is just 30 seconds before their mind starts wandering. The other reason is people have less time today. You need to grab them quickly or lose them forever.

Essential Elements of a Powerful Elevator Pitch
  1. Concise. Your pitch should take no longer than 30-60 seconds.

  2. Clear. Use language that everyone understands. Don't use fancy words thinking it will make you sound smarter. Your listener won't understand you and you'll have lost your opportunity to hook them.

  3. Powerful. Use words that are powerful and strong. Deliver the "Sis-Boom-Bang" to grab their attention!

  4. Visual. Use words that create a visual image in your listeners mind. This will make your message memorable.

  5. Tell a Story. A short story, that is. A good story is essentially this: someone with a problem either finds a solution or faces tragedy. Either type of story can be used to illuminate what you do.

  6. Targeted. A great elevator pitch is aimed for a specific audience. If you have target audiences that are vastly different, you might want to have a unique pitch for each.

  7. Goal Oriented. A kick-ass elevator pitch is designed with a specific outcome in mind. What is your desired outcome? You may have different pitches depending on different objectives. For instance do you want to: make a sale, gain a prospect, enlist support for an idea, or earn a referral.

  8. Has a Hook. This is the element that literally snags your listener's interest and makes them want to know more. This is the phrase or words that strike a chord in your listener.
How to Craft Your Killer Elevator Pitch
  • Write down what you do. Write it several different ways. Try writing it at least 10-20 different ways. Don't edit yourself at all. You will edit later. This first step is for generating ideas. Don't hold back. Ideas can be goofy, serious, wild, funny, or conservative. It doesn't matter. The goal is to get at many ideas as possible down on paper.

  • Write a very short story that illustrates what you do for people. If necessary, the story can be long. You will boil it down later. Paint a picture with words.

  • Write down your objective or goal. Do you want to make a sale, gain a prospect, enlist support for an idea, earn a referral, or something else?

  • Write 10-20 action statements. This is a statement or question designed to spur the action associated with your goal.

  • Record yourself. You can use Jott if you don't have a recording device. Jott is a free phone based service that translates your messages into text as well as providing an online link to the original audio.

  • Let it sit. Come back to what you've written with fresh eyes and ears the next day or later on in the same day.

  • Highlight the good stuff. Listen and read through what you've recorded and written. Then either highlight or circle the phrases that hook you with clear, powerful, and visual words. Obviously not all the words will fall into these categories. You still need connector words, but you want them to be as few as possible.

  • Put the best pieces together. Again you'll want to write down several versions of this much tighter pitch. Tell us what you do and why people should want to do business with you. Include elements from your story if you can fit it in.

  • Record these new ones.

  • Do a final edit cutting as many unnecessary words as possible. Rearrange words and phrases until it sounds just right. Again, the goal is 30-60 seconds maximum.

  • Dress Rehearsal. Run it by as many people as you can get to listen to you. Get feedback from colleagues, clients you trust, friends and family.

  • Done for now. Take your final elevator pitch and write it down. Memorize and practice it until it just slides off your tongue naturally.

  • Continue to improve. Over time, always be on the listen for phrases that you think could make your elevator pitch more clear and impactful. And then test it out. Every once in a while you will probably benefit by starting from scratch because things always change: you, your business, your goals, and your clients' needs.
What's your elevator pitch? Share it with us in the comments!

Resources:
Written by K. Stone, the author of of Life Learning Today, a blog about daily life improvements.
Photo Credit: numine

0 She makes me so happy!!


It's already 6am but I felt inspired to write a disgusting blog post about Igloo!!

Who knew bunnies could be so awesome? It has been a few months now that I've had Igloo and she makes me so happy I can't even... Compared to nasty Pumpkin**, I'm just so super grateful that this relationship turned out this way.

(**if you didn't know, bought a Yorkshire terrier, she didn't like me and I didn't like her, after 1 year of trying to love her, gave her away to responsible rich loving new owners, got scolded like mad by moralistic superior dog lovers who kept rubbing in my face how THEIR dog loves them.)

I bought Igloo because she was so freaking cute when she was a baby and I had a bout of maternal instincts insanity. I thought for the rest of her life she'd have to live in a cage like most of the pet bunnies I've seen people have.

But one fine day I thought to myself, "Hey, people have said that bunnies can be toilet trained so I'm just gonna give it a try."

So I just opened her kitty-litter-filled cage and shut my Princess room door to let her explore around. I wanted to monitor and see if she goes back to the cage to eliminate. She had no prior "training" other than the fact that she's always been doing her business in that cage since, well, she was locked up in it. So of course I was totally skeptical.

To my huge surprise hours passed and I see her occasionally hop back to the cage to eliminate. And then a day passed. No poop droppings outside her cage, NOT A SINGLE ONE. And bunnies poop A LOT.

I was so happy at that point I could almost die! Within a day, with no effort on my part whatsoever, I KNEW I could trust her. She could now have the whole room to roam around in, something I desperately wanted Pumpkin to be able to do but never accomplished.

I spent 1 whole year training Pumpkin, looking at her for hours on end, giving her treats when she goes back to the correct place to do her business, scolding her when she does it wrong.

I know irritating dog lovers will now tell me my training possibly sucked balls and how their dogs do it correct all the time.

But trust me, I tried every possible method. I used newspapers shrinking in surface area. I tried pee pads. I tried treats, I tried spankings (OH YES I DID DOG LOVERS, WHATCHA GONNA DO ABOUT THAT?), I tried stern voices, I tried pee sprays, I tried bringing her out frequently on walks, I tried spaying, I tried spending hundreds and hundreds on products and eventually even diapers... But the diapers have a hole for tails and her poop drops out of it... In the wrong places.

You have no idea how frustrating and stressful it is to let your dog out of her pen and just KNOW she is going to make a mistake. It's not so much the cleaning up, more of the disappointment. WHAT AM I DOING WRONGLY? At the end of the day Pumpkin went back to her pee pads to do her business about 80% of the time correct. This means, if I let her out of her pen, out of 5 times she pees/poops, once she will do it wrong.

I suspect that she is doing it just out of pure spite because she would actually LOOK at me with those hypocritical puppy eyes and spray pee on my carpet. She would then run away, scared, as she anticipates my tidal wave of fury. I wasn't ignoring her, so it wasn't for attention. Maybe she has her reasons but who knows? She's just an evil cunt from hell, I swear, sent here to test my patience and put a dent on my otherwise dandy life.

If she had other redeeming qualities it won't be so bad, I can still accept this flaw of hers but no... She is super hyperactive and never allows hugs or cuddles without nipping, struggling or loads of slobbery licks. Maybe some people like their dogs rambunctious but I hated it. I wanted a calm, cuddly pet. Not super charged up as if high on red bull all the time. She bites and destroys everything in her path even though she has a hundred toys (trust me I spoilt her). Even Kaykay who took care of her for me for a few days hated her. Mike too, hated her.

Worst of all she doesn't love me. Don't ask me how I know, I just do. And that's fine, because I didn't love her too. I had affection for her - afterall she is very cute and has her moments, but to call that 'love' is an insult to the real, unadulterated love people have for their pets who love them back.

But I've complained about all these before. This blog entry is not about Pumpkin the bitch, it's about Igloo.

So when people tell me how much their dog loves them, it always gets me so jealous. "What is wrong with me? Am I such a terrible human being that no animal can love me?" I wondered for the longest time, miserable. I wanted that relationship, and now......... I have it! I do, finally! There is nothing wrong with me afterall! Pumpkin and I were just not a good match.

(Also I think Nanolove loved me but she is a tiny hammie and it's harder to tell with a hammie.)

So yes after that day of allowing Igloo to go out of her cage, I've since went to the pet shop to buy fences and a smaller kitty litter pan for her, meant for cats.

When I'm sleeping or if I'm out, I fence up half of the room so she can't bite wires for hours on end and electrocute herself. She hasn't done that yet so far, but I don't want to take the risk. When I'm home, she gets the whole room. I even sometimes let her roam around the living room!!

Sometimes she hits under the daybed to snooze because bunnies like the dark.


Other times she sits close to me as I use the computer, like a dog would, just lying close or grooming herself.

Pumpkin never used to do that. She'd always escape out of sight and be destroying something in the living room or kitchen.

Sometimes she hops around, sniffing at stuff and standing up when curious. And when she is happy, she does binkies, which is truly a sight to behold.

When I call her, she hops over to my side. If I sit down on the floor, she comes close and snuggles, hoping I will scratch her ears.


Have you ever had a bunny put her front paws on your lap and look up at you before??



Whenever I am getting ready to go out and putting on makeup she squeezes right between my feet and lies there flat to sleep. I don't even want to go out anymore because I don't want to wake her up. ♥

If I'm using the computer for too long and ignoring her, she'd nudge my feet with her nose or paws.

She loves feet stroking lol

I love how easy her companionship is. I don't know how bunnies usually behave, but the fact that when she sees me near she comes quietly sit close to me is PERFECT. To me a dog's excitement is a bit too overzealous and annoying. Tail wagging is fine, but please don't stand up on my chest, lick nonstop, sprint around or bark and pant like mad. Too aloof is no good too - lying quietly down by my side is just the right balance. :)

She follows me as I leave the room and waits by the door when I come back. Not always, but often. I feel so looooooooved. So this is why people are so mad about their pets!

If I knew bunnies could be awesome I would have bought one long ago wtf. I suppose different species of animals suit different people, and my character/lifestyle is just more suited for buns?

Anyway, if you are thinking of buying a pet and don't know what sort of animal to get, here is why bunnies are like, the best pets ever:

1) They shit literally doesn't stink. It's dry pellets. Many of them, but not smelly. They also poop soft poop sometimes but they promptly eat those. It's in their nature because soft poop means it wasn't digested well and needs to go one more cycle. Fine by me, it's not like bunnies can have stinky breath so eat away! I don't have to clean it muahaha.

2) Their pee is smelly, not as bad as cats, but I don't know if the kitty litter I'm using is awesomesauce or what... After being absorbed by the litter it doesn't stink anymore!! I change the litter once every 2 or 3 days, which is super little work compared to cleaning up after dogs or even cats. Hammies are even better though, I cleaned Nanolove's pee pan once every week!

3) Bunnies are VERY clean by nature.

You don't ever have to bathe them. They are bathing themselves all the time!! Igloo always smells and feels clean. :D Being clean, of course, also affects how fastidious they are about their eliminating habits.

I remember the days of bathing Pumpkin and Cloudy and having to pluck bits of shit off their asshole stuck to the fur whenever I bathe them. URGHHHHHHHH. No more cleaning eye shit or assholes for me!

4) Bunnies don't really shed, unless you get an angora bunny or something similarly fluffy. Igloo's fur is very downy so when she drops hair, it just forms a fluffy hairball on the floor, which looks like lint. I actually wanted a cat but cats all shed a lot and I didn't want hairs all over my clothes all the time. I don't know how cat ladies with 20 cats deal with all the cat hair!!

5) Bunnies are so F-ing cute!! I suppose this is subjective. To be fair I think a lot of bunnies become quite ugly after they become adults, compared to how cute they were as a baby. I actually think Netherlands dwarf adults are not cute :X coz their faces are so long. Pick your poison!

But holland lops remain cute forever!! Ok fine this is subjective too. But who can honestly say that a bunny washing its ears or standing on hind legs is not cute?! Or when they sneeze or yawn... OMG. And bunnies are so soft and fluffy all over!

6) Bunnies do not make noise. No barking, no yowling. They are 100% quiet.

7) When dogs lick you: OMG FUCK OFF YOUR SALIVA IS SO WET AND IT STINKS.

When a cat licks you: OMG COOL YOUR TONGUE IS SO DRY AND PRICKLY AHAHAHA.

When a bunny licks you: OMGOMGOMG YOUR TONGUE IS SO TINY AND CUTE AND DARTY AND YOU LOVE ME!! AW I LOVE YOU TOO!!

*I might be a bit biased against dogs*

8) Bunnies can be trained. Perhaps you have seen youtube videos of bunnies doing competitive hurdles. They are very smart! At home, you can train you bun to come when called and stand on hind legs on command. My friend Rykiel who bought Igloo's sister actually trained her bunny stand up on hind legs to 'kiss' her on the cheek. Can anything be cuter?!

9) Bunnies are expressive too! Bunnies always appear so stoic but they have their little ways of showing affection, just like a dog wagging its tail or a cat purring. They do binkies when happy. When I first saw Igloo doing binkies I was so amazed I felt like I witnessed a leprechaun.

If you have won over your bun's love, he will groom you with licks, which will not be readily given to any stranger. When getting scratched/pet, they sometimes grind their teeth softly in contentment and close their eyes. But I guess cats win this category of showing love coz they knead your tummy fats with their paws which is super cute. Ok fine, a dog can wait around in train stations for 8 years for dead owners to return. But I'm just saying bunnies express love too!

10) Even their food is pleasant!! They eat dry pellets which are not smelly. Also hay, which smells super nice. And they nom on things like freaking roses wtf. Because I want to get veggies for Igloo to eat I also tend to cook more veggies for myself to eat, which is awesome. :)



Of course bunnies have their bad points too, and here are some:

1) Bunnies bite stuff.

Their idea of a fun time is to burrow in stuff, dig, and chew. So if you have a bored bunny it might start destroying your belongings. So far Igloo has plucked plaster off the wall and chewed on the rubber mat I bought her. So if you don't want your bunny destroying your stuff, the only way is to quarantine the items!

It's not so bad once you start realising they only bite certain items... Get them a cardboard box to tear up when they are bored and they will stop biting your things!

2) Fear of humans.

By nature bunnies are prey animals, which means that they tend to have trust issues. They probably will take longer to get used to humans than a dog or cat, but I never had any issues with Igloo because I got her when she was very young. But if your bunny doesn't trust you it might not want to be close to you or might even bite!! I'd advise you guys to get younger bunnies (try moomoopets, that's where I got igloo!) and if you have loads of patience or have a big enough heart then of course adopt one! Many people abandoned their bunnies and those deserve a second chance too.

3) Limited activities together

If your bunny is an indoor pet there is only so much you can do with it. Bunnies cannot go to the beach with you like a dog can, or ride in a car. You can bring them for a walk with a leash but they cannot be made to follow you, you have to let the leash slack and follow them as they hop around to explore.

4) They hate being off the ground

In the wild a bunny's instinct is to bolt when it's confronted with danger. Being lifted off the ground means they are trapped and cannot bolt when they are scared. This also means bunnies hate being carried by us and it makes them uneasy so they squirm and panic when we try. It's not impossible, you just have to have a very firm hold on them and make them feel more secure. When they are pet or stroked on the ground or couch or bed though, they love it.


But all these I don't mind because I love Igloo so much I sometimes feel like I'm gonna explode!! ♥

Ok ending this entry abruptly here.
 

0 Open Mailto: Links Using Gmail in Google Chrome

A few months after Google Calendar added support for handling webcal: links in Chrome, Gmail can now become the default handler for mailto: links. If you open Gmail in Google Chrome, you'll see an infobar at the top of the page that asks if you "allow Gmail to open all email links". Just click "use Gmail" and all the mailto: links (like ) will open using Gmail, instead of a native mail client like Outlook or Thunderbird.


"Chrome allows web services to ask if you'd like to use them to open certain links. While most links generally take you to another page, some links can open programs and perform other actions. For example, mailto: links can open your email program and webcal: links can add events to your calendar program. These links are referred to as protocols and the programs they use are called handlers. Many web services these days, including Gmail and Google Calendar, can act as handlers," explains Google.

To edit protocol handlers in Chrome, open the settings page, go "under the hood", click "Content settings" and then "manage handlers". Another option is to open a new tab and paste this in the address bar: chrome://settings/handlers. By default, you'll see an almost empty page with no active handler. You can add protocol handlers from the sites that support this feature: Gmail, Google Calendar (and other services in the future).


Chrome is a little late to the party: Mozilla added support for protocol handlers in Firefox 3, back in 2008 and you can set Gmail as default handler for mailto: from the options dialog.

{ Thanks, Kevin. }

Senin, 27 Februari 2012

0 The Real Way to Lose Weight Fast – With Pen and Paper


I'm sure you've seen plenty of weight-loss ads. They pop up in newspapers, on television, and all over the internet. Typically, they'll promise amazingly fast weight loss for very little work.

Feeling skeptical? You're right to be – companies get up to all sorts of tricks (like fake before and after pictures, exaggerated results and falsified testimonials) just to get you to part with your money. Some products are staggeringly expensive – and potentially harmful to your health.

But the good news is ... you really can lose weight fast, with just a few minutes extra effort each day. It doesn't cost you anything, either.

Here's how.
  1. Write Down Everything You Eat
    Studies have shown that you can lose twice as much weight just by keeping a record of what you eat – a food diary. That means writing down everything, including the quantity (not "chips" but "30g chips" or "multipack bag of chips", for instance).

    You can create a simple chart in Word or Excel that you can fill in each day, or use online programs to track your food intake. There are dozens of apps for iPhones or other devices that will do just this.

    It doesn't sound like such a little thing could make such a big difference – after all, it only takes a few minutes each day to write down what you're eating. But people typically lose weight just from recording their food intake ... without even being "on a diet".

    Why does it work? Because you become instantly more conscious of what you're consuming. Instead of dipping into the cookie jar as you walk past, you ask yourself "do I really want that?" Instead of succumbing to that impulse purchase of a candy bar, you think "do I want to record that?"

    A food diary alone will speed your weight loss, helping you lose a safe and sustainable 1-2lbs per week. But the humble pen and paper can be used in other ways, too...

  2. Record Your Exercise Sessions
    How often have you skipped exercising, telling yourself that you'll work out tomorrow? It's easy to let one missed gym session turn into a week and then a month of inactivity.

    To keep yourself motivated and on track, record the exercise that you do (you could write it alongside your food diary, or jot down details in your calendar). Again, this might not sound like much of a change to your usual habits – but seeing your activity in black-and-white will encourage you to do more.

    Your exercise log can be as simple as a tick for each day that you exercise. Ideally, though, you'll want to record a few details – like how far you jogged and for how long, or what weights you lifted. This lets you look back over past weeks to see the evidence that you're progressing.

  3. Keep a Journal
    Some people end up overweight just because they have poor eating habits, or love large portions. But for many dieters, food has become tangled up with emotions – they comfort-eat, or snack when bored, or turn to chocolate to combat stress.

    Keeping a journal lets you spot patterns. For instance, you might realize that your snacking tends to happen after dinner, because you're bored and don't have much to do. Some dieters like to write down how they were feeling in their food diary, every time they record eating – hungry? Bored? Upset?

    You can also use a journal to work through difficult feelings. Perhaps you're stressed at work, or sleeping badly, or struggling with a particular relationship. Getting your thoughts out on paper is a really effective way to tackle them – the writing process helps you to work through your emotions, and get some objectivity about them.
Grab a blank notebook, or set up a document on your computer or online. Try keeping a food diary, exercise log and journal for just one week – and see what a difference it makes.

Written on 2/28/2012 by Ali Luke. Ali is a writer of fiction and non-fiction and a writing coach. She blogs about writing on her site, Aliventures.com, and has a free ebook "How to Find Time For Your Writing" available when you join her writing newsletter here.Photo Credit: sunshine city

0 Autonomous Angels of Maintenance

[Image: Undersea robots guard the internet; image via Wired UK].

In what appears to be a sponsored post, a short article published on Wired UK presents an interesting scene in which semi-autonomous robots protect undersea internet cables from harm—that is, "dexterous robots toil at the bottom of the sea to safeguard the web."

As the CEO of a company called Global Marine Systems explains, submarine cables "the width of a human hair" support 95% of the world's internet traffic. Thus, "to cope with the demand for cable repairs," the company has "invested in a number of remotely operated vehicles (ROVs) at our facility in Portland, Dorset." They continue:
ROVs act like underwater robots, and are used to locate cable breaks on the seabed... and repair them. Once the ROV is lowered into the sea, a pilot on board one of our cable ships controls it to find the fault location and fix it.
The idea that little machine-guardians at the bottom of the Atlantic Ocean, like mechanical demiurges on the invisible edge of the world, are at least partially responsible for ensuring that this post can be read in Europe is a comforting thought before bed.

0 Ways to Minimize Your Chances of Regret in Life


I have a fear that is shared by many people. I fear waking up one day in the future and regretting how I've spent my life. Like you, I want to live my life to the fullest and avoid the "should-haves". Sounds like a good goal, right?

As you may know, it's really easy to say, but harder to live in your day-to-day life. It's hind-sight that's 20/20. You get caught up in day to day troubles and somehow you just don't seem to have enough time to get to all of those goals and dreams.


If you don't prioritize them, you will end up regretting the missed opportunities. To minimize regrets, take these steps:
  1. Really Think Through Your Goals and Dreams
    Ask yourself what you want your life to be like 10 years, 5 years, 1 year, and 6 months from now. Do all these visions work together? These visions will probably change some as you live your life, but having a general idea of how you'd like to see yourself will give you the focus to move yourself in that direction.

    List out in detail what characteristics and skills you want to see in yourself. List out anything that you hope to accomplish. Use these to make a list of all of the things you would likely regret not doing.

    Here are some examples for inspiration:
    • Be able to bike 50 miles in one day (1 year)
    • Overcome fear of flying to travel more (1 year)
    • Master Italian and move to Italy (5 years)

  2. Audit Your Current Life
    To get where you are going, you need to know where you are. Look at how you spend your time - both at work and in your personal time. What activities get in the way of your goals? If you really want no regrets, you may need to give up or limit non-forward moving
    activities, such as TV or games, in favor of practicing a new hobby or working on your goals.

    Also look at what you are doing right. Do you find that when you work in the morning, you concentrate better than in the evening? Use this to your advantage. It's much easier to work with your natural rhythms instead of against them.

  3. Get Help Where You Need It
    Some goals are hard to do on your own, but easier if you get professional help with them. For example, goals like "get in shape to run a marathon" or "overcome my fear of flying to visit Europe by next summer" would be easier with the help of a personal trainer and a
    psychologist respectively. Professional help can minimize time and effort when facing big goals that may seem daunting.

    The external help that you receive can also be a motivating factor in you putting in the work. A professional can hold you accountable when you would normally let things slide.

  4. Find Ways to Remind Yourself
    It is really easy to become complacent and fall back into your comfort zone. By setting up motivational triggers in your life, you can regularly remind yourself of the you that you want to become and put the effort in to get there.

    You can use songs, images of your goals, notes to yourself in well placed locations, or really anything that can act as a reminder of your goal or dream. These can really help you experience the emotion tied to your goals, which will help keep you motivated.

  5. Track Your Progress
    This step is a must if you want to reach your goals and have no regrets. Find some way to track progress on all of your active goals. I keep a daily log where I write down what I eat, how I feel, and any steps taken towards my goals.

    You can also use charts and graphs for visual tracking, if your goal can take advantage of them. The visual-ness of the chart can be very motivating.
Life is to be lived, not just coasted through. Take the steps needed to get what you want out of life. Think about 20 years from now. Which are you going to remember more: watching that TV show or reaching a goal you have always dreamed of?

Written on 2/27/2012 by Hailey Rene. Hailey helps people dream big and start making progress on their dreams no matter how crazy or out of control their lives are to start with. Find her at Pursuit of Focus and stop ignoring your dreams. Photo Credit: Jason A. Howie

Sabtu, 25 Februari 2012

0 The Most Overlooked Secret to Dealing with Life’s Problems


How often have you been living life, happy and content, and then suddenly life slaps you in the face with something unexpected? We all have problems, and the truth of the matter is that problems will never go away. They will just change form.

One time you may be struggling with health, the next with money, and still the next with relationships. That is both the curse and blessing of life.

However, you don’t have to suffer because everything isn’t perfect in your life.

Behind the Scenes of Problems

Nothing becomes a problem until you label it so. You’ve probably noticed that different people have different opinions of what problems are, and how much attention should be given to any one thing. This means that problems exist in our heads, and that we create them, define them, and fear them.

I, for example, am great at worrying about problems that do not even exist, and I’m sure you’re no different. But that doesn’t change the fact that problems are made-up.

The Most Overlooked Secret
The secret to dealing with life’s problems is to realize that they are illusions of our imagination. Sure, they feel very real. I’m not denying that.

Let’s say you’re driving your car merrily down the highway, until someone cuts you off. You might fly off the handle, or you might not. It will depend on how you perceive the situation. It’s an excellent example of how some people create something to complain about where others are completely fine.

Life will always have “problems” and the way to deal with them is to let them be. You don’t have to try to analyze, fantasize, or figure out your problems. Let them figure themselves out. The more you try, the more you fuel the problem, and the more miserable you become.

This doesn’t mean you stop solving problems. It means you stop the compulsive worrying and fear-mongering inside your head.

How to Stop the Compulsive Worrying
You can stop the madness by simply staying present, and letting whatever happens be. This can be extremely hard if you bump into a problem that is important to you, but it is through those big problems that the biggest changes occur.

For example, I tend to freak out whenever something threatens my health. I can even go into a cold sweat, which I did a few weeks ago about a possible dental issue. But I remained present. I observed the freak out within my own body and mind without fueling it by thinking and trying to figure it out.

I was the observer of my thoughts, and you know what happened? The thoughts lost momentum and disappeared. The freak out ended within 30 minutes. Some people are so good at freaking out that it goes on for years, or even worse, their whole life.

Why is Life so Hard?

Life can seem tough from time to time, but it is through those tough times that you grow as a human being. It’s uncomfortable, yup, but that’s life.

It’s a rollercoaster with both highs and lows, which we all have to live through, so you might as well learn how to deal with the lows. The more comfortable you become with life’s problems, the more you’ll enjoy life’s gifts.

Conclusion
Life is what it is, and most of life’s problems are created by us. The problems are events in our life, no one is denying that, but the extrapolation that we do freaks us out, and then we wonder why we feel so bad.

It’s a life-long habit most of us have cultivated, which means we can change it. But change starts with awareness.

So, today all I want you to do is be aware of how you worry and freak yourself out, then simply watch your thoughts. You will be pulled back into the drama of your mind, but gently pull your attention back to just watching what goes on.

Be kind to yourself, and enjoy both the highs and the lows.

Written on 2/26/2012 by Henri Junttila. Henri writes at Wake Up Cloud, where he shares his personal tips on how you can live the life you know you deserve. When you feel ready to take action, get his free course: How to Find Your Passion (And Build a Business Around It).Photo Credit: D'Arcy Norman

Jumat, 24 Februari 2012

0 How To Make Friends And Keep Them


Do you find it difficult to make new friends? Or keep friendships alive? Do you find yourself in a situation where you would love to have close friends but find no way to make that a reality?

While it is easy to make friends in childhood, more and more people find that once they leave college, new friends become a rarity. There are a lot of colleagues and co-workers and great people you gel well with. But somehow, nothing translates itself into friendship that stays alive. While some are lucky enough to have their childhood friends last a lifetime, a vast majority of us find our stream of friendships thinning away. The old friends wander away and the new ones are difficult to find and make.

So here are some simple pointers on how to make friends and keep them –

To Make New Friends ….
  1. Expose yourself to new people
    You obviously won’t find people knocking at your door and asking you to be friends with them. To make new friends, you got to meet and interact with new people. And not only that, you need to meet the same group of people frequently enough to click and to know each other enough to carry the friendship forward.

    A great way to do this is to find groups/activities of things you love doing or would love to learn. This will bring you together with people who already share your passions and interests – a great thing to build your friendship upon. So start thinking of groups you can join or even start for that matter.

  2. Increase one on one interaction
    Joining a group is not enough. If you simply come, do your thing and go, the entire exercise will be futile. The more you interact with people one on one, the more you get to know people, the more chances you have of clicking right and bonding with them. The more you interact, the more chances you get to make friends.

    While making friends means being tolerant of shortcomings and celebrating the positives (since no one’s perfect), it does not mean that you make anyone your friend. Be choosy but not too choosy. Give people a chance but don’t force yourself if you feel uncomfortable. And most importantly, don’t forget to be yourself. A friendship formed when you are acting as someone else can’t and won't last.

    An excellent way to get opportunities to interact one on one with others is to be early at the meeting place. If you are first, you get alone time with others and hence get to know them better.

  3. Send great vibes
    A great mindset to have when you meet new people is that they are already your friends. This not only makes you feel comfortable and friendly towards others, but people will often reciprocate in kind. People instantly like people who seem friendly and who like them. It’s natural to return whatever it is that you are getting. So send vibes of friendship and get the same back.
To Keep Your Friends….
  1. Stay in touch
    It is rightly said that it is easy to make friends but difficult to keep them. In any relationship, it’s the maintenance part which requires work and effort on your end. To stay in touch means to call up when not required just to know what’s going on in other person’s life. To stay in touch means to let the other person know that you are interested in the little stuff that happens in their lives. To stay in touch means to convey that you care and that they are important to you.

    Birthdays, anniversaries, New Years, etc., provide you with an excuse to call the other person. Although you simply can’t wait for such events to come. Meeting regularly by way of monthly get togethers or game night or lunch/dinners, are great ways to stay in touch. With SMS, email, and social platforms like Facebook, it’s become easier than before to stay in touch with each other.

  2. Be there for friends
    People remember people who stand by them in their joys and sorrows. It’s important to be there for friends in their times of celebration and times when they need someone.

    No matter how busy you are or how inconvenient it is, doesn’t matter if you are late by a couple of days, be there for your folks. There is nothing that cements a bond of friendship as strong as being there for the other person on important days/times of their life.

  3. Share your life
    As much is being part of other person’s life important, that much important it is to open up and share your life with them. This is the beauty and simplicity of friendship. You care and share each other’s life. By allowing friends to be a part of your life, by sharing with them glimpses of your life, you provide them with a chance to know you better; you provide them with a chance to be your friend.
In the end, don’t forget that your first friend is you. If you can comfortably be you, if you can accept and love yourself just the way you are, if you can be your very best friend, then you will find friends everywhere. This is because it is easy to make friends when there is no need to please the other, when you can be genuine and be yourself. It is easy to make friends when you are not focused on what impression you are making, whether you are looking good or what others are thinking about you. It is easy to make friends when you are simply you and you open space for the other person to be just who he/she is.

Written on 2/25/2012 by Avani Mehta. Avani writes on motivation, happiness and personal effectiveness on her personal development blog. Hop on to her site to grab a copy of her free e-book: The Fabulous Motivators.Photo Credit: mikebaird

0 Towards the Perfect Browser

Chrome is clearly the most Apple-like Google product. Many of its features are copied by other browsers: from the simple interface to automatic updates, powerful JavaScript engines, unified address bar and search box, shorter release cycles and much more. When it was released, Chrome's team had a clear vision and no feature was there by accident. While there are many feature requests, Chrome's team only implements them if they make sense and fit the project.

In an interesting response to Kevin Fox's question about the updated "new tab" button, Chrome's Peter Kasting said that "good design involves hav[ing] a clear and consistent vision for the product which is then informed by user input, not enslaved to it. I think Chrome as a whole shows a remarkable design consistency and focus that Google products as a whole have not always had. I don't think that's an accident. It's a direct result of a process that uses a small group of consistent leaders, rather than endless end-user trials of everything, to make decisions."

Glen Murphy, Chrome's design lead, makes it more obvious: "We're trying to sculpt Chrome down to the perfect browser, and sometimes that means making painful consistency changes in aid of that long-term vision. While we want to minimize disruption for existing users, most people on earth haven't used Chrome, and we have to make the best and most awesome browser possible for them."

Chrome is the browser that has great default options, few settings and an interface that hasn't changed all that much over the years because it was carefully thought out and reduced to the essence. Just like the iPhone and its OS.

0 A Strange Google Mobile Experiment

Sometimes it's difficult to understand Google. A few weeks after dropping the non-obvious navigation menu from the desktop UI, Google tests a new mobile interface that uses the same menu.




Cascading menus on a mobile device? They're too large and many Google services are missing (Reader, Blog Search, iGoogle, Product Search, Google Finance, Picasa Web, Google Talk, Google Tasks), not to mention that there's no room for displaying Google+ notifications.

0 HoverMast

[Image: The Sky Sapience HoverMast, via sUAS News].

The Israeli-made HoverMast is a "tethered hovering platform specially designed for small vehicles." As the consistently fascinating sUAS News explains:
At the click of a button, the system autonomously deploys, rising to heights of up to 50 meters within 10-15 seconds. Secured by a cable, serving as a power supply and wideband data link, the highly stabilized HoverMast [... can also be mounted with sensing gear...] such as electro-optic sensors, laser designators, radar, and sophisticated COMINT and ELINT systems.
While the HoverMast (also called "Sky Sapience") is currently being pitched to the only market that can afford it right now—that is, state-funded militaries, contractors, and police organizations—the availability of these and other semi-autonomous data gathering systems will continue to increase for the civilian realm (i.e. scientists, designers, artists, cartographers, and, as a lengthy new piece on Australia's ABC News explores, journalists).

But what are the architectural possibilities for tethered sky masts and other instant cities made from semi-autonomous drone infrastructure? Film sets dramatically gridded with airborne towers, capturing every detail from previously impossible angles; roads appearing in the middle of nowhere, marked only by illuminated HoverMasts popping-up in lieu of street lights; cities in a blackout throwing ad hoc masts of light up into the urban sky; pop-off architectural ornament that rises, tentacular, from rooftops to catch better cell phone signals; and so on.

0 11 Underrated Ways to Improve Your Sleep and Get You Focused, Happy and Massively Productive


Most of us think we’re getting enough sleep when really, we aren’t. A recent poll revealed that almost two thirds of us just don’t feel we’re meeting our sleep needs. And, “we” includes those teaching our kids, driving on our roads and running our world!

Are you one of those statistics? Walking around compromised by tiredness — cranky, fog-headed and simply unable to participate fully in the script of your life? These are common complaints in our over-processed, over-stimulated, overdone world. And unless you step in and break the pattern of this life-sucking roller-coaster ride of mere existence, you’ll have more and more down hills and crashes.

I’m quite confident that you’d prefer a prettier picture for your future. So jump on board and start by getting a good, solid night’s sleep. You’ll want to begin by making some simple changes to your daily and bedtime routines.
  1. Stick to a sleep schedule
    This may not make sense, but it works. Go to bed and rise at roughly the same time every day, including weekends. You might be cursing at the thought of foregoing your Sunday-morning sleep-in but truth be told, too much time in bed can actually disrupt sleep.

    So even if you’ve had a rough night, get up and on with your day.

  2. Establish and follow a bedtime ritual
    We are creatures of habit. Our sequences give us familiarity and get us doing the predictable. So set up a routine that you can easily do with guaranteed consistency.
    I love to take my bath, light candles, drink a cup of Relax tea and drift off to a meditation. I don’t stress that I don’t hear the entire track because I know that on some subliminal level, my soul is sensing the words and the deep relaxation and healing is taking place.

  3. Don’t eat or drink excessively before bedtime
    Nighttime is for sleep. It’s the time for your body to recuperate from your busy day and restore your health and energy. If you introduce more work such as digestion, you jeopardize the quality of your sleep as well as the actual digestion. Don’t be surprised if you wake up with gas or heartburn! Or if you feel flat and groggy — let your body do what it needs to at night, sleep.

    Drinking excessively before bed will result in you waking up and running, or perhaps stumbling, to the bathroom throughout your sleep time.

  4. Exercise and stay active
    Exercise, if bottled and sold, would be a billion-dollar industry because it seems to cure almost everything — including sleepless nights. The results are unequivocal; get your heart rate up for at least 30 minutes most days of the week and you’ll find yourself deeply engrossed in many, many dreams.

    Here’s the point of controversy — when to exercise? Late at night is a definite no-no. But, wait up, that’s when I exercise and I truly sleep like the dead an hour thereafter. Other research indicates early morning exercise is best for guaranteed deep slumber while still additional studies points toward a late-afternoon cardio workout as being the trick to lights out all night.

    My suggestion — as always, listen to your infinitely wise body. Try out different times and see what works best for you.

  5. Avoid caffeine, nicotine and alcohol
    Noon should be your cut off point for taking stimulants — and that includes cola if you haven’t ditched it yet. Caffeine takes much longer to metabolize than you might think — from at least four hours and then some.

    While alcohol hangs around in your system for a varying amount of time depending on your body mass, gender and your metabolic rate and tolerance levels, a standard drink will stay in your body for at least one hour.

    And what’s the deal with cigarettes? Well, nicotine can cause shallow breathing and sleeplessness. Furthermore, smokers tend to sleep much more lightly than non-smokers. So, you’re easily startled and disturbed.

  6. Schedule worry time
    We all worry. At least worry sensibly! If you’re stressing out before you go to bed, a nightmarish period lies ahead. Schedule some “Worry time” instead. Block out a space during your day to confront your concerns by brainstorming solutions on paper or talking to someone. But don’t start that anxiety ticker before bed.

  7. Find ways to relax before bed
    Does relaxation come easily to you? If not, identify actions you can take that encourage you to chill out. I practice breathing to a soothing mantra. Perhaps for you it’s taking a warm bath or sipping chamomile tea. However weird or wacky these may appear is unimportant. The goal is to unwind and shed your cares so you can drift off peacefully.

  8. Create a sleeping haven
    Experts say you should make your room like a cave — cool, dark and quiet . While “cool” is a subjective experience, the average recommended temperature is between 65 and 72 degrees Fahrenheit. Apparently, this gentle drop in temperature induces sleep, especially REM sleep where you do most of your dreaming.

    It’s also crucial that your mattress and pillows are comfy. Before I changed my mattress I would honestly wake up due to lower back pain every time I rolled over. It was just awful. And if you ask my family members, so was my morning mood!

  9. Don’t watch the clock — And turn off that smart phone!
    The glowing haze or staccato tick-tock of a bedside clock will totally blow your night’s rest. Get rid of the distraction by putting it in your dresser drawer or under the bed.

    And turn the phone off! At least those beeping Twitter and Facebook notifications. You are unique, magnificent and uber special — but the world will survive without your immediate response. Off!

  10. Check your medications
    Ask your doc if any of the meds you are on may be contributing to your insomnia. Particular drugs to take note of include steroids, beta blockers, nasal decongestants, appetite suppressants, and asthma and high blood pressure medications. You can look on the label of over-the-counter drugs to see if they include caffeine or other stimulants such as ephedrine or pseudoephedrine.

  11. Your bedroom: For sleep and sex only
    It’s been labeled the “Cardinal Rule of Sleep Hygiene” — your bedroom is there as a place of calm and pleasure. It’s not an office, a gym, a dining room or a movie theater.

    And here’s the thing; less sleep equals less sex. Sixty-one percent of Americans report that sleepiness disrupts their sexual relations. So you might want to follow these tips.
With a good night’s sleep, you’ll arise smiling, energized and ready to be an active player in your life. Sounds crazy but it’s true — and simple. Make a few tweaks here and a few tweaks there and before you know it, life will be brighter, your productivity will be fantastic and you might just be the lover you were in your college days!

Written on 2/24/2012 by Kerri Baruch. Kerri is a Holistic Life and Nutrition Coach. If you are ready for Inner Bliss, Vibrant Health, Sheer Phenomenal Greatness and Infinite Self-worth, be sure to subscribe to my newsletters and blogs at eatrealbewell.net or follow me on Facebook and Twitter.Photo Credit: tobyotter

Kamis, 23 Februari 2012

0 Google Drive Will Support Third Party Apps

Back in November 2010, a comment from the Google Docs source code revealed some new features that will be available: third party apps, Cloud Print integration and sync.

It turns out that the upcoming Google Drive release will add support for third party apps and Google will also include a SDK for developers. This way, you'll be able to open the files stored in Google Drive using non-Google apps. The Google Docs source code mentions "SDK" several times in connection with Google Drive and the "open with" feature.



There's also an interesting message that suggests Google Drive will integrate even more with Gmail: "Say goodbye [to] email attachments and hello to real time collaboration. Drag anything shared with you to My Drive for easy access."

In a recent article, Wall Street Journal reported that GDrive "is expected to launch in the coming weeks or months and will be free for most consumers and businesses. Google will charge a fee to those who want to store a large amount of files."

Most likely, Google Drive is an important upgrade to Google Docs that will detach the online storage service from the Google Docs apps and will make it more useful by offering more free storage, syncing apps and integration with web apps developed by other companies.

Rabu, 22 Februari 2012

0 Google Docs for Android Adds Real-Time Collaboration

When Google released the Android app for Google Docs, the application didn't include many features that weren't available from the browser. The latest updates made the app more useful: there's a better tablet interface, offline access to your documents and now you can edit documents collaboratively.

The most powerful Google Docs feature (real-time collaboration) is now available on Android devices and you don't have to switch to the desktop interface. You can see the changes in real-time and all you edits are saved almost instantly. While the Android editor lacks many features that are available in the desktop version, you can use rich text formatting: bold the text, change the color, create lists, indent paragraphs, undo and redo the changes.


"We've brought the collaborative experience from Google Docs on the desktop to your Android device. You'll see updates in real time as others type on their computers, tablets and phones, and you can just tap the document to join in. We also updated the interface to make it easier to work with your documents on the go. For example, you can pinch to zoom and focus on a specific paragraph or see the whole document at a glance," informs Google.

Suddenly, the mobile web app pales when compared to the native app and that's probably the reason why the Google Docs mobile site promotes the app every time you go there.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

The Inspiration Blog Copyright © 2011 - |- Template created by O Pregador - |- Powered by Blogger Templates

Sitemap