Kamis, 30 Juli 2009

0 Modern Networking Tactics for the College Student

meeting peopleIt’s not what you know it’s who you know. These common words of wisdom hold especially true in today’s world where even the best and the brightest graduates have difficulty landing a job. In this economy, networking, more than education or job experience, is the key to professional success.

I am currently a sophomore at the University of California at Berkeley and have spent the last few years actively working to build my personal network. The tactics I have used have opened various doors for me and given me opportunities I would have otherwise never known existed.

This post is meant as a way for me to share some of tactics I have implemented.
  • Blog
    It is amazing how much credibility having a blog instantly builds. It does not matter whether you have one reader or a hundred thousand readers; having and maintaining a blog shows you know how to take initiative and be consistent.

    If your readership base is small, a blog may not attract new opportunities and contacts, but instead will serve as a way for you to be chosen for any opportunities that come your direction (whether it be a job, an internship, or a scholarship) and a way to build credibility with the contacts you make. Once you attract a readership base, opportunities will naturally find their way into your e-mail inbox.

    I currently run AM Beat, a blog about marketing and entrepreneurship. Through showing this blog to anyone I network with, it becomes easy to establish a sense of credibility and be memorable. The blog has also served as an outlet for me to meet various other students and entrepreneurs who can help me with my various projects.

  • Start a Club
    At UC Berkeley, I started CEOB, the College Entrepreneur Organization of Berkeley. We currently have around 100 members, but the interesting thing is that since my e-mail is listed on the UC Berkeley website as the founder and head of the club, well known companies e-mail me opportunities for jobs and internships for me to pass on to my members.

    In addition, it became easy to attract the attention of well known individuals as I can invite them to come speak at UC Berkeley. Hence, messages that may have gone ignored were instantly replied to. Once contact was made, making the connection became simple.

  • Teach a Class
    This is another great way to build credibility and attract the attention of well known and respected individuals. At Berkeley we have an organization called DeCal which allows students to pick a subject, create a syllabus, and teach fellow students. Every DeCal student is awarded two units. In addition to allowing students to say they were the instructor of a class at a credited university, it again also allows students to attract speakers to come visit whom they can then establish a personal relationship with.

  • Attend Industry Conferences
    Industry conferences are the ultimate venue for individuals to build a name for themselves within a certain professional community. These conferences don’t usually feature many students so there is not as much competition as there is at a job fair. It also allows you stick out in the minds of anyone you come in contact with. Another added benefit of attending conferences is that they often feature steep discounts for students. For example, a standard ticket to the TechCrunch 50 start-up conference costs $3,000, while a student ticket runs $200.

  • Don’t Forget Traditional Networking Methods
    While these networking tactics may be a bit outside of the box, don’t forget to network in the traditional manner. These tactics have been tried and proved effective for decades. Make sure that you still attend job fairs, join professional clubs other than the ones you start, and take advantage of the career counseling your school provides.

Written on 7/30/2009 by Aditya Mahesh. Aditya is the founder of AMBeat.com, a resource for entrepreneurs complete with advice articles, start-up profiles, interviews, news analysis, and more.Photo Credit: jaaron

Rabu, 29 Juli 2009

0 Be a Proud Member!

Advertorial

Guess who has a spanking new member's VIP card?


Most of us have bought stuff from Watsons before and now we are about to be rewarded when we do so!


Introducing the launch of the new Watsons card!

The picture above is of the Watsons card
itself as well as the welcome pack, which includes:




A guide to your new card, as well as $150 worth of vouchers!


To get your card is incredibly simple.

Just buy your card at $5 at any Watsons store, and this gives you:


- A lifetime membership! No renewal costs!

- $150 worth of vouchers

- And 20 bonus points in the card upon online activation!


Here are 2 examples of the vouchers found in my thick stack:





And many more! I especially like the discounts on products that I regularly buy anyway such as make-up or shampoo. From ZA to Maybelline to Gillette to Pantene to KFC rebates and deals, this is definitely not a voucher book that you'd toss away.



How does the card work?

It works based on a Points system. The more points you earn, the more you get in cash rebates!

Not only that...


2x points whenever you purchase any Watsons' house brands,

and 5x points the first time you shop at Watsons during your birthday month!




5x is damn ridiculous lah! At this rate I'm going to do all my shopping during that one day in April only.

Once you get your card, it's important to remember to activate it, otherwise you won't be eligible for the 20 free bonus points!

Here's how:



Easy peasy





So get your card today and remember to go to:

http://vip.watsons.com.sg/


to activate it!

0 The Bat Spiral

One of many projects collected in the first issue of P.E.A.R., released last month, is the Bat Spiral by London designers friend and company.

[Image: The Bat Spiral by friend and company].

Serving as further evidence that architecture is not solely built for humans – after all, other species build architecture, respond to architecture, and colonize architecture quite readily – the Bat Spiral offers an elevated habitat for seventeen species of British bat.
From the architects:
    Twenty-four different types of timber roosts are positioned within the concrete spiral as if they were the spokes of a wheel. Each roost position is determined by the orientation of the sun, shade and prevailing winds. The roosts are painted black externally to maximize heat gain from the sun...
Inside, amidst gaps, reclaimed wood beams, and concrete spans poured in-situ, are "four levels of habitation," including feeding perches and access holes. Optional "mating roosts" can also be added as demand requires. Prefab modular animal housing.
More images of the project are available in P.E.A.R..
I'm led to wonder, however, what non-human future might await something like Aranda\Lasch's 10 Mile Spiral if it were to be constructed – and later abandoned – amidst an ecosystem for bats...
Perhaps we are inadvertently building the future infrastructure of an animal world.

0 Architecture of the Blink

[Image: "The ghost cinema" by Phill Davison, used through Creative Commons].

An article posted today on New Scientist suggests that, over the course of a 150-minute film, audience members will miss an incredible fifteen minutes simply through the act of blinking – but also that people watching a film tend to blink at the same time.
It's called "synchronized blinking," and it means that "we subconsciously control the timing of blinks to make sure we don't miss anything important" – with the addendum that, "because we tend to watch films in a similar way, moviegoers often blink in unison." That is, they blink during "non-critical" moments of plot or action, creating a kind of perceptual cutting-room floor.
On the one hand, then, I'm curious if this means that clever editors, like something out of Fight Club, might be able to insert strange things into those predicted moments of cinematic calm – moments deemed safe for blinking – simply to see if anyone notices, but I'm also left wondering if there is an architectural equivalent to this: a spatial moment inside a building in which it seems safest for us to blink.
In other words, do people not blink when they first walk into a space like Rome's Pantheon or into Grand Central Station – or is that exactly when they do blink, as if visually marking for themselves a transition from exterior to interior?
It would seem, then, that if film has moments of synchronized blinking, then so might architecture – but when do we choose to blink when experiencing architectural space, and do those moments tend to occur for all of us at the same time?
How could we test this?

[Image: The Pantheon, photographed by Nicola Twilley].

Further, if there is, in fact, a moment inside a building somewhere where almost literally everyone blinks– say, in the lobby of the Museum of Modern Art, or in a bathroom corridor in the history building at your own university – could we say that that space is somehow yet to be fully seen?
It is the spatial equivalent of those fifteen minutes of a film that no one realized they missed.
After all, perhaps there's a detail in your own house that you've never actually seen before – and it's because you tend to blink as you walk past it. Your own body assumes, outside conscious awareness, that this must be a safe space for blinking; it's near a window, or the colors are very dull. Perhaps that's how spiderwebs build up: you literally don't see them.
On a much larger scale, meanwhile, are there stretches of highway somewhere outside town where the scenery gets a bit boring – and so everyone starts to blink, more or less at the same time, thus visually removing from collective cultural awareness that McDonald's, or that abandoned house, tucked away over there beside the trees?
And could you locate that exact moment of blindness – could you find blinkspots throughout the urban fabric – and start to build things there? Architecture becomes a three-dimensional test landscape for the neurology of blinking.

[Image: A human blink, via Wikipedia].

For instance, if people driving 65 mph travel, say, five feet with every blink, then what spatial and architectural possibilities exist within that five feet?
What are the spatial possibilities of the blink?
I'm reminded of certain zoning laws in which you need to consider the exact amount of shadow your building will cast on the neighborhood around it before beginning construction.
But what about zoning for blinks? Can you zone a building for maximum blinks?
Or perhaps the opposite: a new genre of architecture, specially designed for Halloween fun houses, in which it's too stressful to close your eyes even for a micro-second...

(Spotted via @jimrossignol).

0 7 Great VoIP Alternatives To Skype

skype videoSkype is one of the most widely used VoIP service providers for computer based communication in the world. The success of VoIP has taken the world by storm and most likely given many telephone providers a run for their money due to their great pricing structures.

To me, Skype has long been a useful business tool which I use to stay in touch with clients worldwide. It certainly beats using the land line which costs me a fortune for international calls, especially for countries such as Switzerland (where my family and some of my best friends live). You can imagine that a weekly phone call on a land line would cost me about $60 and this is with a reduced plan already.

With success comes competition. In recent years we've seen several new apps and organizations spring up with their own Skype-like capabilities. Here are some of my favorites. Check them out, choose one you like and begin saving money if you haven't jumped on board yet.
  1. Vbuzzer
    Vbuzzer allows users to send instant messages after downloading the software onto their computer. US and Canada residents can also enjoy free Internet faxing with this provider. VoIP services are available and start at 1.5c/min.

  2. VoIPBuster
    This software promises great results to existing Skype users. Sending an SMS to a US based account holder from the US will only cost you 8 cents per message. What looks really attractive to me though is their FREE calls network of some 36 popular countries. When you buy credit with the company you can call any of the landlines within the approved countries for free. Please read the guidelines as some limitations apply.

  3. Smart VoIP
    SmartVoIP is another VoIP client that promises you cheap rates and great service. According to their list, rates are incredible cheap and chances are that you will benefit from using them and save money. You can also make phone-to-phone calls with this software client.

  4. ooVoo
    If video calling with several friends (or business partners) is your thing then ooVoo is a great client to research further. ooVoo comes with several usage plans and you can also use the service to call others, send files and chat with text.

  5. GoogleTalk
    Probably known to most Gmail users, Google Talk is directly integrated into your Gmail account. To be honest, I don't like using this service because of the integration. It distracts me from doing what I set out to do, namely to read and reply to my emails. You can however download GoogleTalk as a separate software to using it in Gmail which is probably the safer method if you don't want to waste unnecessary time.

  6. iChat
    iChat is the instant chat messaging suite for Mac users. It is a powerful messaging sofware that allows you to place video calls and much more with the integration of your iSight video camera.

  7. Jajah
    Jajah needs to be seen since it promises to connect you free of charge to any phone in the world on your first call. You simply insert your own home number, then your friend's number and press the green call button on their website. It will then connect you with your chosen line. There is a system in place that limits you to the amount of time you can use free phone calls though but having said this, Jajah is worth a closer look if you want to save money calling overseas.
Tell me, what is your favorite VoIP and why?

Written on 7/29/2009 by Monika Mundell. Monika is a passionate freelance writer and pro-blogger. Her blog Freelance Writing helps new freelance writers to get started in this exciting industry. If you like to work with Monika, feel free to visit her Portfolio site.Photo Credit: Gari


Selasa, 28 Juli 2009

0 Ten Useful & Interesting Google Docs Hacks

It's true that Google Docs isn't perfect. It's true that it cannot be compared to Microsoft Office. Not yet. But the fact of the matter is that it is the best web office tool available and millions of users use it everyday.

Google Docs, since its inception has been rising steadily in popularity. It has added some wonderful features over the years and if you are someone who doesn't need to play with lots of complex data everyday, then Google Docs could easily suffice most of your requirements. It's free, easy to use and can be accessed from any computer which has internet.

Here are some tips which would help to enhance your everyday experience with Google Docs.

Import / Export & Backup
  1. Windows users can use DocList Uploader, a nifty app to bulk upload documents and sheets to your Google Docs account. You could either drag and drop files or right click and add files.

  2. If you use Google Desktop then there is a nice Google Docs gadget which makes the task of uploading multiple files to your Google Docs account easier. Just drag and drop files and you are done. It also allows you to search and access online documents from your desktop.

  3. GDocsUploader is another such tool for those using Mac OS X operating system. It can be used to quickly upload files and even photos to Picasa web albums.

  4. If you need to bulk download your Google Docs files then you need to use this Greasemonkey script in conjunction with DownloadThemAll add-on for Firefox. The script page has detailed step-by-step instructions on how to do it.

  5. GDocbackup is another tiny utility which can export all your documents from Google Docs to your hard disk drive. It also allows you to choose the export format, which is pretty cool.
Synchronization
  1. Offisync is an excellent tool which can sync your Microsoft Office Documents with the web based Google Docs. Check out this detailed post on Read Write Web which talks about some of the cool features of that tool.

  2. If you are looking to download your Google Docs documents to your computer, edit them offline and then sync them back, then Syncplicity can help you. To know more, check this article on Digital Inspiration.
Tips & Tricks
  1. If you want to quickly track your expenses across different banks, credit cards or other sources then take a look at this awesome trick involving Gmail and Google Docs. In fact this trick could be used for tracking a lot of other things too. Really cool.

  2. A tip which I've personally found to be quite useful while working on Google Docs is using the full screen mode. It reduces the clutter and helps you focus on the main thing. Just press Ctrl+Shift+F or go to View -> Full-Screen to use it.

  3. A neat feature of Google Docs is that it allows you to run online polls or surveys and quickly gather information from friends or customers. Here is an article describing the steps to do it.
Do you know of other such Google Docs hacks ? Talk about it in the comments.

Cheers,

Abhijeet

Written on 7/28/2009 by Abhijeet Mukherjee. Abhijeet is an internet entrepreneur who loves writing about tech, productivity, blogging & making money online. Catch him at Jeet Blog and also subscribe to his weekly newsletter.Photo Credit: kjarrett

0 How To Write When You Think You Can’t

>When you have to write something and you feel as if a family of butterflies has taken up residence in your stomach, you aren’t alone. Many people become anxious when they attempt to write. Some get panicky at the sight of the blank page and say they have a writing phobia.

No one is born with a writing gene. With a little work and effort, anyone can write. Here are some ways you can begin to build confidence about writing:

  • Forget the past
    Maybe you had a teacher who criticized every other word you wrote. That’s unfortunate, but it doesn’t have to affect you now. Let the criticisms go.

  • Practice freewriting
    Three or four times a week, write about a subject for 10-15 minutes without going back to correct your mistakes or judging what you’ve written. If you can’t think of anything to write, write, “I can’t think of anything to write,” or, “I’m looking for something to write,” and continue writing. The act of writing, even if your words don’t make much sense, strengthens your writing “muscles,” just as lifting weights strengthens you physically. At first, you may produce a lot of gibberish, but in time, your writing will become more focused; you may discover subjects in your freewriting that are important to you and that you may want to write about in more detail.

  • Experiment with clustering
    Let’s say you’ve been assigned a topic in school and you don’t know where to begin. Get a large sheet of paper and some colored pencils. Write your topic in the middle of the paper and draw a circle around it. With different colored pencils, draw lines from the circle, write words that are related to your topic, and circle them. Make your cluster colorful. Extend your cluster by adding words that are related to the words you wrote. Make your cluster as long or as short as you want to.

  • Carry a small notebook with you.
    Notice the world around you. If something catches your attention, jot down a few words to describe it. These jottings don’t have to be profound or even well thought out. Simply write down a few of your impressions and try to appeal to more than one sense. For example, you see a flock of sea gulls at the beach. Your notebook entry might look like this:

    Sea gulls
    high-pitched squawks
    swoop down to beach for food
    large wing span
    flying in a cloudless sky

    This activity makes it easy for you to transfer your thoughts to paper, a problem many would-be writers experience. If you’re so inclined, you might freewrite about the sea gulls later or make the subject into a poem.

  • Follow the three steps of The Writing Process
    In the long run, using The Writing Process will help you write more efficiently. Even if you’re writing a short e-mail (you could do the process in your head in this case), get in the habit of following these three steps:
    1. Plan your writing.
      What do you want to write about? Tailor your writing to your audience. What do you want them to do or think as a result of reading your writing? Obviously, you would use a different level of diction if you were writing for children than if you were writing to a group of cardiologists. Make a brief outline of your main points.

    2. Write your first draft.
      Unless you’re writing a short message (maybe that e-mail I just mentioned) you’re going to write and revise numerous drafts. Remember the old adage: “All writing is rewriting.” This article has gone through five revisions, and I’m not finished yet.

    3. Proofread, edit, and revise
      Until now, you’ve planned and written without judging how you’re doing. Not judging is crucial in the first two steps of The Writing Process. During the third step, however, you must question what you’ve written. Put on your critical hat and leave it on until you’re satisfied with your document. Check your grammar, sentence structure, and content. Make certain you’ve done what you set out to do. Put your work away for a while--a few hours or more, if possible--then go over it one more time. This gives you a perspective you wouldn’t have if you worked continuously.
    I’m convinced that most people have problems with writing because they try too hard, take it too seriously, or are afraid of being judged. Learn to play with words and get ideas by freewriting, clustering, and keeping a notebook. Practice using The Writing Process, but don’t write and edit at the same time. Only during the last step, should you edit mercilessly.
Maybe writing will never become your favorite activity, but if you follow these tips, you’ll be able to produce a decent report, letter, essay, or story. Eventually, you may begin to look at writing as a powerful tool for communication. Just think: Your written words can help you express yourself, educate or inspire others, and make people laugh or cry. I think all that is worth the effort. Do you?

Written on 7/28/2009 by Mary Ann Gauthier. Mary Ann is a writer and an adjunct instructor of English at a private college. She teaches listening skills to her business communication students and is also working on a book about the therapeutic benefits of journaling.Photo Credit:
Rennett Stowe

Senin, 27 Juli 2009

0 Oxygen For You?

Note: Blogged one new post under this post.

Advertorial



Feeling bored at home?


How about doing something fun and also ultra good for you, like a FACIAL MASK??

I hate to sound like one of those girls who are always going on about skincare, but it's really time to start. :(

And yes, I regret not putting in more effort when I was younger.

I've heard so many aunties say that sentence to me when I was a teen and it irritated me so much that I vowed never to repeat that. But here I am, repeating it! Golden advice!

Nowadays all my girlfriends who are about my age are putting on face masks all the time! After a mask, skin feels hydrated, rejuvenated, and well... it gives me the illusion that I'm 18 again. Except ironically when I was 18 my skin was damn shitty. But that's not the point.

I'm constantly on the lookout for better skin care products because the technology is always improving anyway!

So. I got sponsored 3 new skincare products and I'm gonna introduce them to you!

Available at SA SA outlets:



Beauty Talk's OxySolution



Beauty Talk's OxyMask



Beauty Talk's OxyAqua



Maybe some of you have seen, heard of, or even used these before.

Afterall, they have been featured on Taiwan’s hottest TV programme 女人我最大 before!

So what's so special about Beauty Talk's products?

As is obvious from the product names and my blog title, the answer is OXYGEN.

Did you know that even if you keep a stringent skincase regime, your skin can still appear yellowish and dull if it doesn't have enough oxygen in it?

"Oxygen is important for our skin as it renews skin cells, promotes metabolism and provides energy to the skin.

Without fresh oxygen, blood circulation is slower and unable to detoxify, causing dark and dull skin."


Well. That's kinda lousy news.

So now we know that on top of moisturizing and hydrating, sunblock, and an amass of other things we need to do to keep looking young, we can now add "giving skin OXYGEN" to the list.

But no worries, I'm gonna give my skin oxygen if that's what it wants. It's like a demanding girlfriend, never stops requesting for stuff.


First step is to use OxySolution!



Give the bottle a little shake to make sure it's mixed well.



Prepare a cotton pad



SQUEEZE!



So cute :D





When it's drenched in OxyGoodness, gently tap on skin!







This mousse is actually a multi-functional toner.
It moisturizes and even cleanses while firming up your skin!

And it can even double as a make-up remover!







Eyeliner and eyeshadows easily rubbed off.



Now for the stellar OxyMask!








Pardon me I'm trying to take artsy shots of me squeezing my mask out.



Here it goes!


For demonstration purposes, I shall only do the mask on half of my face:



Massaging OxyMask into my face in a circular manner as instructed.

This exfoliates dead skin, treats clogged pores and whitens!





And I must say I never expect a mask to be so fun!

After mere seconds the seemingly boring mask starts to FIZZLE!


Many many bubbles start surfacing, giving me a tickling sensation!
It's so amazing!

I even hopped into Mike's room and told him,
"See? It's has bubbles!! Can you see?? Can you see??"

Until the poor guy says "Oh yes",
I go back into my room, still amazed.

The bubbles popping excitedly



Here's a close up of the bubbles...

The mask stops fizzing after a short while, forming a cooling gel mask.
I suppose they finished their job of giving oxygen to my skin.



It's now time to wash!




.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.




The mask is supposed to have lifting purposes and make your lighten your labii folds. These are the creases at the sides of our mouths when we smile.

That is not obvious in the photo I took but CHECK OUT HOW MUCH FAIRER I AM on the right side of my face where I put the mask!

I won't believe it but I really look brighter and much more radiant on that side! Granted, my left side still has blusher on (strictly no foundation), but you can see that even my forehead lightened!

Not only that, my skin feels super soft, silky and supple!

If you think I photoshopped the effects in, do watch this clip and you will be thoroughly convinced:




Super amazing isn't it?

Polish off the routine with OxyAqua: Intensive Hydrating Essense and you are done!




This gel cream moisturiser is water-based and not oily at all. The perfect companion for the toner and mask!

Celebrate good skin with Camwhoring!

Here's me with some blusher put on. I can't live without blusher, sorry.





It's Beauty Talk's 1st BIRTHDAY!

So to celebrate this successful 1st year anniversary, you are given discounts!


OxySolution + OxyMask + OxyAqua used to go for $195.70, but now they are selling for $138!!


Almost $60 off the usual price
for the 3-pack deal!




Old customers must quickly grab a spare set and new customers should try it now while it's so cheap!


Beauty Talk products are available at all SA SA outlets.

p/s: Just to reillustrate, I didn't put foundation for all these pictures, though I did apply some blusher. Tiny blemishes or zits are also smoothed out, but I definitely did not use photoshop to create the lightened effect on the after photo!

0 3 Ways to Maintain Your Weight While Working Behind a Desk

desk jobIf you have ever changed jobs you know the transition can often mean big changes to your daily schedule and habits. Due to the advancement of technology, many people are finding themselves behind a desk rather than out in a field or on the go. While I am thankful for the technological advantage of our current time, I cannot help but notice the alarming rate of obesity.

After college I noticed many of my friends heading out to sedentary jobs, many of which were behind a desk. Over time I noticed almost all of them slowly gaining unwanted weight and I knew exactly why; none of them changed their habits. They were so used to being very active as they spent most of their day walking to and from class, going to the gym and going out at night. Now all they were doing was going to work, sitting on their rump and then going home to sit some more.

I recently relocated and found myself at a desk job similar to all of my friends. However I knew that I didn't want to gain the excess weight as they had. So if you have recently changed jobs or have been at a desk for some time and have put on some weight, here are some tips I utilized to maintain my weight despite my activity levels decreasing drastically.
  • Eat Less
    I know this sounds easy but consistency is key. If you were like me, running around on campus 5-6 hours per day required a lot of food energy to maintain my weight. As you can imagine my food choices were not the healthiest and I usually went for the most calorie dense bites I could find. When I began my desk job I had to make a conscious effort to eat less at first but in time the habits were ingrained in my psyche and it just felt normal. Here's what I did.

    • I consumed fiber rich foods – I decided to stick with foods higher in fiber to keep me full. Instead of eating my usual pop tarts and cereal for breakfast I made sure I ate more fruit and veggies. The extra vegetables added a lot of bulk to my diet which allowed me to feel full on a fraction of the calories. Fruit and veggies contain more water than other foods which also helps with satiety. This made adherence easier.

    • I lowered my meal frequency – I knew that I wouldn't need to be consuming the same amount of calories as I was in college so I dropped my meal frequency down from 5 meals to 3 meals per day. This was an easy way to cut back on the calories.

    • I ate more lean protein – Protein is the most satiating of the three macro nutrients. It's a good idea to eat lean protein with every meal due to the hunger blunting effects it can have.

  • Move More
    So how do you move more when you are chained to a desk all day? Here is a concept you must get creative with. Depending on the rules and structure of your workplace, you may not have the freedom to move about as you'd like. Here is what I did to ensure my expenditure increased somewhat.

    • I walked a lot – I found the bathroom farthest away from you desk. Each time I had to relieve myself I walked clear across the building. During both of my fifteen minute breaks, instead of sitting around in the lounge I would head outside and walk a few laps around the building. This always woke up me up and the fresh air was nice.

    • I took the stairs – Working in an office on the tenth floor posed a great opportunity. I took the stairs every morning. Sure, it took longer than the elevator but I burned a few extra calories in the process. When it was time to retire for the evening I also took the stairs down.

    • I asked to have my desk raised – Working while I stood gave me a little more freedom to move around as opposed to keeping my rump parked in the chair for 2-3 hours before going on break.

    • Add An Extra Day Of Training - If you are participating in a regular workout routine you can always add an extra day to your schedule. By making this change you will increase your expenditure, which will decrease the likelihood of gaining any unwanted body fat.

    • One way I increased my activity was by going hiking every Sunday afternoon for about an hour. When it was warm enough I would go for a swim in the lake. Just adding a little more exercise can really add up over time.

  • Do Not Snack At Your Desk
    Mindless eating is the epitome of unwanted weight gain. 99% of those around me that are overweight have some kind of snack at their desk. None of them have apples or bananas to munch on; it's always an energy dense bag of candy or chips. When you eat out of boredom you develop a bad habit of curing your boredom with food. Don't get into this habit by allowing no food at your desk.
Give these tips a shot if you find yourself chained to a desk for any substantial period of time. Unnecessary weight gain does not have to happen.

Written on 7/27/2009 by JC. JC is the author of JCDFitness, A No BS Approach To Looking Great Naked.Photo Credit: star5112

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

The Inspiration Blog Copyright © 2011 - |- Template created by O Pregador - |- Powered by Blogger Templates

Sitemap